Rooting Cuttings Update 1

in #rootings6 years ago

I'm trying to root cuttings from my fruit trees using the growth and some hardwood cuttings that were taken during my mid-winter pruning in January. I potted them up on March 10 using rooting hormone on one group and a honey-water mix on the other. You can read about it here:

https://steemit.com/gardening/@ruggedhomestead/rooting-cuttings-or-just-forcing-growth

Each week I'll post a brief update with a photo to record the progress of this experiment. My goal is to rapidly increase the number of fruit trees I have in my food forest at little to no cost. While I will also be buying fruit trees to plant, if I can use cuttings too it will exponentially help my efforts.

Here is the current state of the rooted cuttings:

IMG_0438.JPG

As can be seen, the group of plantings on the left seems to be growing much more vigorously than the group on the right. I'm not sure if its because that's the group that got the rooting hormone or some other reason. And again, I don't know if this is just "forcing" growth or actual growth that will result in roots forming; I'm just winging it here to see what can be achieved.

These cuttings are all in a homemade potting mix of peat moss, compost, and perlite, and they are receiving bottom heat from seedling mats. The mix is kept moist and the room they're in has relative high humidity. Let's see how this progresses over time.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Looking good!
And welcome to Steemit!
Looking forward to seeing how these cuttings come along. :D

Good luck. I have had much success with this method too. The way I do it is very similar. Just a tub with gravel and sand, and I leave it outside. Willow and Chinese Elm are easy to root. Now I am attempting Cherry and Grape trees. Sometimes they root better when I lay them sideways, to increase wet surface area.

I am enjoying seeing how your cuttings are doing! Does it mean that the ones with the rooting hormone did better than the ones with honey?

That's fascinating! I'm looking forward to seeing the progress.

Congratulations @ruggedhomestead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ruggedhomestead! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75