Excited to be on Steemit

in #rpg6 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to Steemit so pardon me if I make any mistakes. I learned about bitcoin 2 or 3 years ago. I watched in fascination as it climbed, slowly at first. Then in 2017, it started to explode. I already had some bitcoins so I'm going along for the ride. I've also started investigating other cryptocurrencies such as Ethereum. I even own some Ethereum which has also gone up.

But enough about bitcoins. I hope to contribute towards the growth of the Steemit platform and community. My hobbies? I've been interested in games for a long time. When I was younger, I played some computer games such as Ultima IV, Wizardry and a few others. Now you know my age! I'm also interested in pen and paper role-playing games (RPGs). I've seen them grow (1980s to 1990s), fall (1990s to 2000s) and grow again (2000s onwards). I was also a big comics and superhero fan when young. Marvel or DC, you ask? I like both! I've seen the explosion of superhero movies from a few years ago and I'm always amused when people talk avidly about the latest movies when the plots were basically rehashes of some older comics. But I must admit the visuals of these movies are great. Those visuals wouldn't have been possible decades ago.

Science fiction and fantasy (SFF) books are also my passion. The explosion and interest in science fiction and fantasy has also surprised me. When I started reading these genres, they were viewed as "not serious literature" and "only suitable for geeks". Now SFF books are read by everyone, especially the cool people! How things have changed! But I'm not complaining. I'm still a great fan of SFF books but my reading tastes have turned towards non-fiction as I get older. I'll post some reviews on some classic science fiction and fantasy books on Steemit as time permits.

I hope I was not too long winded in this post. I've lived through some interesting times and it's getting more interesting all the time. I look forward to see what the future holds, both for myself and for the Steemit community and the cryptocurrency space. Thanks for reading this post.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome to steemit @huangriver. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @huangriver to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey I just started up too!

Sounds like we have a similar bit of interests I started in Bitcoin when it was just a "joke" myself. I would sure love to find that old HDD really. I've been an avid gamer for years and love Scifi and fantasy.

Mind if I give you a follow?

No problem. Hopefully I won't bore you too much.

Howdy howdy

Welcome Aboard. If you like Sci-Fi check out The Edge of Beyond trilogy by Raz Wickham www.theedgeofbeyond. I think you will like it. Great books

Welcome huangriver, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

hello) interesting to read, good luck on the project

Glad to hear you like science fiction books. I cant wait to read some of your reviews.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80