At the Finish Line

in #running6 years ago

I’ve just crossed the finish line and I’m breathing heavily and gratefully, surrounded by other runners who have also trained hard. I’ve made it this far for so many reasons: a strong support network, nested goals that felt achievable on a day to day basis, preparation in combating projected pitfalls in my training. I’m decidedly not here, just having completed my goal, because I had a perfect training plan or because it was easy. It was difficult to reach this place. It was a struggle. The challenge of it didn’t disappear over time. I failed sometimes. I ate junk food, skipped runs, slept in and contemplated giving up. Negative self-talk sometimes shouted down the part of me that felt I deserved happiness and health.

But each time I gave up, I thought about what it would feel like to cross the finish line. I knew I would feel strong, vibrant, excited to be in my own skin, insanely proud of myself. Beautiful and capable and radiant.

And so each time I had a setback I made the decision to continue on, to do what was hard in the moment but completely worth it in the long run. I remembered that I’m not a quitter; I’m a finisher. I’ve made so many mistakes and look how I’ve learned from them! Making mistakes is inevitable, natural, necessary. I’m stronger, more confident in my abilities, self-compassionate. Happy I didn’t give up.

Sort:  

Congratulations @beccs! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Future beccs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73