Around the Mormon Temple... my 4 mile run turned into an 8 mile run #runforsteem #FiftyRunsTillMay 8 of 50

in #running6 years ago (edited)

2018-02-14 Pano from Mormon Temple.jpeg

My friend, Anders, commented on Strava Looks like you got lost a million times :) Nope, this was mostly what I planned to run. I estimated that it would be 4 miles (which often means it will be 5 miles since I suck at estimating distance when running lots of streets in a neighborhood). Things changed when I saw I could get onto the Mormon Temple grounds... and no guards stopped me as I ran around the whole place.

###Why the Mormon Temple, David?

There was a gaping hole in my heatmap that I wanted to fill and yesterday was the day. I had left a route in and out to make as little overlap with past lines as I could. The streets I was running were on 2 sides of the temple which is purposely dominant in the area with a golden statue of the Angel Moroni facing east. (Urban legend has it that someone stole the original Moroni from the Los Angeles temple using a helicopter.)

Aaaaaaannnywaaaaay, I wasn't stopped by guards. I took both staircases down to the bottom of the grounds. I ignored a Do Not Enter sign (it was for cars, right?) I discovered an apartment building on the grounds. And a whole bunch more! Even better, the gaping hole is only for the smaller section of a school and a Catholic church now.

The Run (aka Details Details)

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 4.03.44 PM.png

Purpose: Aerobic run to fill in the heatmap. Keep it toward 4 miles as I was scheduled to run with a friend early this morning. This section is all hills so I figured I'd have to walk uphill a little to keep my heart rate down.

Fueling: Maybe I'm not planning in a holistic way. I decided to kickstart ketosis a bit since I've been a bit lethargic so I did a modified fast. I didn't have protein except for some bone broth which was for the electrolytes more than the protein. Other than that, I had some veggies and fat. I was surprised that I was fine until mile 6 or so when I had a pack of almond butter. My legs started telling me I was at my limit after passing mile 7. Otherwise, I was fine. There may be something this fat fueling stuff.

Results: I walked a bit and with the temple grounds open I ran 8 miles resulting in my postponing this morning's run and taking a rest day. I'll ride the bike later. It was one of those days where I didn't want to leave the house and I'm glad I did!

The Sights & Sounds





Also check out:

#runforsteem
@runningproject

Sort:  

What an interesting place. I like how you're using heatmap motivation to keep your aerobic runs interesting.

Thanks! I’m going to start writing up my running challenges this weekend. I have to admit I have a thing for my heatmap now like never before. ❤️

You look pretty tired in that last pic. Must slow you down running in long pants and a coat. 😁👍

😂

You know how it goes... sometimes you need a break.

I’ve certainly felt like that after a run!

Nice job! Just logged my weekly #runforsteem

Thanks! Happy to read you had such a good run.

Running allows me to set my mind free. Nothing seems impossible, nothing unattainable.
-Kara Goucher

Resteemed by @runningproject

.

I love it when I double the intended training distance... just because it feels right :) Great run! Onwards and upwards!

Wow. Nice run and great photos :)

additionally to mentioning the challenge pls put the link in ur post. welcome to runforsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81