Fuji 5Lakes Training Blog - 12.25.17 - A Sunny, Sub-zero Run on Christmas Day

in #running6 years ago

IMG_6471.JPG

-9 degrees Celsius today, and some pretty chilly gusts of wind. But. The sun was out, and it wasn't so bad. Plus, my parents got me some nice, warm winter running gear for Christmas.


I think it's important to run on days like this, when it's not exactly comfortable to get out there and do it. It kind of wakes me up inside. That said, the sun is out today, and it was actually pretty fun to feel the full on frigidness of those cold gusts of air, and the soft powder of the freshly fallen snow under my feet. The roads were already fully covered in a layer of white, packed snow after being plowed, and patches were were already becoming icy.

I wanted my wife to see the ice in my beard, as I had been telling her that the cold here by Chicago is different from the cold back in Niigata, Japan.

Had some good conversations with old friends the other night about marathon/ultramarathon running, and various ways to approach it.

Really looking forward to getting to the Ultramarathon around Fuji this Spring!

Today's Run:

DISTANCE: ~2 miles.
AVG. MILE TIME: ???




Thanks for Reading!

~*~

PREVIOUS FUJI 5LAKES TRAINING BLOGS:


~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Meanwhile in CA, it's 70 degrees during the winter. While I miss the "holiday feelings" I get from cold weather, I don't know if I can do minus 9. :p

Minus 9. No thanks.

What is the "RealFeel" there? O.o

image

This is with the wind and snow on the ground here in Iowa...

The weather here is -19 degrees but not snowing

Merry christmas :)

@kafkanarchy84

You're a dragon, for you - 9 is a real sunbathing

Good for you! I ran 4.2miles yesterday in 16 degree weather =)
It is good to practice running in all temps & weather conditions. It's really helpful and you are able to more readily appreciate "easy" conditions =)

Thinking about this makes my face hurt.

💙 Great post. Very good writing,i like this post 💙

       💛 Thanks for Sharing  💛

open music gif.gif

So cold.... 61 degrees at Florida....Merry Christmas

-35 here in Minnesota..

Great post there, keep up good work !

This replay was created using STEEMER.NET Alpha ( support STEEMER.NET Transactor / Wallet / Exchange Project here: https://steemit.com/investors-group/@cryptomonitor/steemer-net-steem-blockchain-transactor-for-windows-android-app-funding-update-243-1200-sbd-28-12-2017 )

Good post bro :)

Hi! Merry Christmas to you. I'm pretty new here on steemit and I did this special articles for you kindly Check out and upvote please. I will also be glad to see your response. Thanks a million!
https://steemit.com/christmas/@basonrich/reach-out-now-now-is-the-time-20171224t223616623z
And
https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@basonrich/seven-keys-to-having-a-magical-christmas-ever-20171225t43634139z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86