Book review: Let your mind run

in #running5 years ago

I have been reading “Let your mind run” by Deena Kastor. I stumbled across the book when looking for running books written by a woman. (Seems like all the books I was reading were written by men.) I knew who Deena was but didn’t know about her story. This book goes back to her early childhood when she started running (and winning!), takes us through her running story in high school and college, and into professional life. As the title says it reflects around the mental side of running, and life in general. Even race reports revolves a lot around this. We learn Deena’s specific mental strategies and there are many. I think I need to read the book again, preferably a few weeks before a race, and take notes because there is a lot to learn. The overall message is very applicable to all aspects of life. I also think I want to read more books on this topic.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks for the review...I have seen this book around a lot and was wondering if it was worth the read. I am very interested in the mental side of running, especially when it comes to racing so will need to have a look at this book soon.
Regards Vince

I liked this one and, as I mentioned, will look for more books with this focus. Running plans are all around but people going in depth on the mental side is less common.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The mental "tips" and "strategies" are my favorite parts of reads like this. There's training guides everywhere, and I think the structure is generally the same for the most part -- but overcoming the mental-blocks is where the real hurdles are... at least for me.

Might have to check this one out.

Also -- that's quite the stack of books you've got in the background there.. I think I recognize a couple I've read...

Eat and Run by Scott Jurek; and
Born to Run by Christopher McDougall

Hehe, busted! I have read quite a few over the years.

Posted using Partiko iOS

“Run or Die” by Killian Jornet is a good book also

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 0.96% upvote from us for your 120 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

...and remember, you are only one run away from a good mood!.
@marenontherun quote

anewrunning.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97