WHAT IS IN A RUNNING SHOE AND REALLY WHO WEARS WHAT?

in #running6 years ago (edited)

Ok you runners out there. We have had so many posts about where we run (some very awesome) how we run and even why we run. We have had advice on clothes, shoes, aches and pains. Actifit and this and that. How far we ran and how high was the elevation.

Now I am trying something completely different. I want to see how many responses I actually get on here. It is the easiest task you have ever had. You actually though have to be completely honest.

  1. How many running shoes do you currently own...(this includes old shoes you can not part with and new ones you have not broken in yet)? Also include shoes you purchase and when you get them home they actually suck.

  2. What is your favorite shoe that you run with the most for training and for racing.?

  3. What is your very favorite shoe of all time, this would include anything that has been discontinued.

Three very easy questions and please post a picture. I am going to compile the answers some how and see if I can make some kind of collage with the answers.

I am starting the chain here.

  1. Believe it or not I have ten pairs of shoes. Winter, summer and training and racing. (hint...I love to run

  2. My favorite training shoe Mizuno Shadow

  1. My favorite racing shoe Mizuno Hitogami and the Mizuno Sayonara

Now I may just have a soft spot for my New Balance 1500V3

  1. My favorite shoe of all time and now discontinued. I have searched the globe. Mizuno...Wave Elixir

You see ...it is Mizuno hands down . all the way.

Let's see what you can share with us.

Images: Google

Sort:  

20160827_155101.jpg
This is an old picture from before I moved to Auckland, I currently own 2 x ASICS, 4 x Hoka One One and 1 x Brooks...So I count seven pairs of runners.
Don't think I could choose a favorite currently. I think my ASICS Gel Noosa 9 are my favorite of all time.
Regards @run.vince.run

I love the picture...a very unique way to display running shoes. I have always wondered about Hoka. never tried them. Thanks for playing along. :))

I run mostly trails so trail shoes are my game.

The last two years I've been running in Brooks PureGrits. I've been getting 5-600miles out of them.
PureGrit 6

The trails in my area have a lot of lava rock and I tend to abuse the bottom of my feet so I switched to Altra Lone Peak4s. They are a zero drop platform so there is more sole under the forefoot. I've run all week in them and have been utterly delighted. I think I'm a convert.

Lone Peak 4

I have a second pair of shoes that I run on the road with. The PureGrits cousin, the PureCadence. They're pretty worn and I'll likely be switching to Altra as well. The Escalante 1.5 looks about right!

Escalante 1.5

I am looking for a trail shoe. I really need them. Many of the runs here on the East Coast are actually trail runs. So I go along and sometimes slip and slide, especially in the wet weather or the fall. So I am going to look at those Brooks and also Mizunos. See which ones I like better. Thanks for playing along and for the info. MIzuno won...however..hands down. :)))

Hahaha!
I’m also Mizuno fan!!!

how many running shoes: many pairs...I didn’t count them because they are in a kind of Tetris disposition and dispersed in a couple of closets like this:

29A1026C-47B7-48B6-BF6C-D8B67522AC81.jpeg

  • my more recurrent Running shoes is : Mizuno wave rider , whatever the number... I’m currently using the 21st version

  • The best one? Mizuno wave rider 20, orange, 2h54’ in Marathon... Adidas Boston were a really good pair thought

I have hitogami ( very lesive...) and sayonara 1 and 2... then I have as well Mizuno Running trail shoes..
CAE6AC90-8A7F-4104-A9A8-483DA818AF30.jpeg

Thanks so much for playing along. I never met anyone with so many Mizunos as I have. lol. How are the Mizuno Trail Shoes. That will be my next purchase.

Mizuno Hayate 4 are exquisite and with a lot of grip... Perfect for short/medium length trails because they are really light...

Nothing like a shoe post for runners!

  1. I have four pairs atm (one terrain, one indoor threadmill, one very minimalistic regular outdoor and one more cushioned regular outdoor). I also have running sandals (Lunas) which I use some times at summer. I have two old ones that I haven't separated with yet, but I am not really sentimental about this so they'll go soon.

  2. Hm, hard to say, they are all favourites for their purpose.

  3. I tend to always have a pair or two of some sort of Saucony.

Perfect a difference twist..

The Flip flop Cabriolet of the runing shoe. Open top jogging nothing better.
Its the only pair of shoes i own. When they die i get another pair 😁😁😎😎

CameraZOOM-20180924165154668.jpg

cute...but not and somewhat boring...yawn. However, did you notice what I wrote. Okay all you runners out there. Like in Runners...members of the @runningproject. lol nice try

Ah sorry runners are very serious people it seems and low on a sence of humour 😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

aww..I thought my reply was very funny.. besides I was the only person to reply

Very dubious claims. Everybody here would wear flip flops all their lives with no ill effects. They would need to do a huge study to back up these statments.

Posted using Partiko Android

dont tell me...tell the 358 sites on the internet.. everybody would or everybody does

He he 358.. Very specific lol x

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha ... Lovin it 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

If you love this...you should see the reply I gave you in response to the post that chick wrote about fiber. lol

Ha ha Cavemen must have been well stuffed. Out feet are pretty amaizing i think and adapt to whatever you put them through. Bare feet is best. Keep grounded I say x

Posted using Partiko Android

if you were anyone else I have a perfect name for you...they are used to carry loads on their back. Bare feet. right, snow, ice, stones, nails, tacks, oil, sticks and who knows what else. yep. ... barefeet..sure...yep..anyways. i do think they are referring to these as bad things.

![]()

Sorry for hijacking your very serious running post. I love my flip flops like you love your TRAINERS 😜 although I only have one pair at a time. But we all have our fetishes My dear. How many pairs of all types of shoe do you have in total 😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

also my post was not very serious. it was a fun post and I got some funny, interesting replies and I think they thought it was a fun thing to do. kind of bring the running community closer

why are you apologizing. I thought your response was funny. HOWEVER, running is not a fetish. and we do not ever call them trainers, unless you are referring to wheels on the back of a small bicycle or underpants for toddlers when you are learning to use the potty. I was trying to come up with a somewhat original and unique post to see a common theme for names..like asics, nike or mizuno. so for runners..you know lol

How many pairs of all types of shoes do I have..you ask. hmm I counted them all last night. just for you............. 8,357. In total of all types. More than Imelda Marcos. They claimed she owned 7,500. So I got her beat by a landslide.

Great post Marion!

Disclaimer: Sorry bout the 1% upvote, I'm trying to recharge my voting power, it went down to 22% after the first vote I cast, due to the hard fork.

Anyways, see you soon hahaha!

no worries....I have passed the baton back to eddie to do the posts. for the next few months anyways. In doing so got an invitation to Barcelona. ha..

Yeah, he'll start feeling the burn when his money runs out and start posting again, I already warned him to not expect upvotes from me LOL!!! *I'm totally all talk.

ha. he is pretty Steemit savvy. way more than I. I just can not commit right now to the three running project posts and my own. he posted about the fork thing before it happened. or should i say before i saw it

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66932.02
ETH 3099.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74