Sharing My Marathon Journey

in #running5 years ago

Hi Steemits! My name is Hannah. I'm super excited to join you and share my running journey with you. I am currently training for Grandma's Marathon in Duluth, MN on June 22nd. I thought it would be a fun to share my training journey with you and meet some other runners around the world.

IMG_0214.jpeg

A little bit of my running history - I started running 12 years ago and remember I could barely run a mile. Huffying and Puffing and stopping. Alot! A very humbling experience BUT I kept on trying. Over and over again until I actually started to like running. All this trying eventually lead to running to a marathon. My first marathon (Minneapolis Marathon - 2015) was run in 3:32:44 and my second marathon (Twin Cities Marathon - 2015) was run in 3:16:29. I can't believe that was almost 4 years ago! So, I'm definitely due for one this year.

I'm about 2 weeks into my 18 week training plan for Grandma's Marathon. I just completed a 13 mile run on Sunday which was on the treadmill because I woke up to -16 degrees. I am very thankful for my Kindle and YouTube videos!

IMG_0346.jpeg

My past two long runs were 11 miles at 18 weeks out, and 12 miles at 17 weeks out. So, you can see I'm in the build up stage as I was only averaging out about 25 miles a week before I started the training plan. Training for my past 2 marathons were alot different because I already had a base of about 40 miles per week. So, this is going to be very interesting!

I will share more about myself and my training in future posts. I'm excited to share this journey with you!

Sort:  

Hi Hannah! Welcome! Looking forward to stealing some training / motivation tips from you! You seem to have no problems running through winter -- and I've been struggling a bit. Keep up the good work!

Hi Dirk! Running through winter is also very hard for me too - don't be fooled by my post. While, I enjoy running in a fresh coat of snow, once it melts and creates a layer of ice it makes it a little miserable. The treadmill is not exactly my favorite - but I have come to appreciate that it is there for me on negative degree days and when it's too icy to run outside. It's a love/hate relationship!

Hi Hannah! Super excited to hear about your training, and your journey with running! Those are some pretty impressive marathon times! Thanks for introducing yourself, and sharing your story -- we've resteemed it to the frontpage of EXHAUST so others can find it too!


There are some pretty cool running communities and projects here on Steem! If you feel like checking it out, pop over to EXHAUST -- a fitness training / tracking site that we're building that operates on the Steem blockchain. You can check out the FAQ here to learn a bit about the project.(Hopefully the info isn't too outdated.. been a while since I've spruced it up). It's still very much a work in progress, so things break from time to time, but we'd be excited to see you and your training updates on there.

Keep runnin'!

Hi Hannah. Welcome to steemit. Come and join us at Exhaust
The endurance sports community. Cheers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit Hannah!

Those are VERY impressive Marathon times and I'd be chuffed to come away with those sorts of times in my upcoming races. I look forward to seeing your training, you sound like you're a very strong runner!

Congratulations @nizzlehead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75