Week 14 Marathon Training Recap

in #running5 years ago (edited)


photo from Sunday's long run

It's been a week. Spring hit us full force and water is everywhere including our basement. The combo of the amount of snow we got in February + warmer temps + rain last week created a disaster for everyone's basements in the area. The temps kept dipping under freezing during the night which created some pretty icy running paths. So, considering everything that went wrong this past week constituted less mileage....

BUT...this week is looking fantastic, weather-wise. No excuses this week.

Here is the run down from week 14:

  • Monday - Rest Day
  • Tuesday - 6 miles on the treadmill - average 8:35 pace
  • Wednesday - Rest Day
  • Thursday - Rain, rain everywhere + our basement flooding. There was no place for me to run!
  • Friday - 7 miles on the treadmill - average 8:43 pace
  • Saturday - 7.4 miles outside - average 8:26 pace. It was such a sunny day and everything started to melt again. The paths were still pretty icy. So, there was a bunch of jumping over icy puddles.
  • Sunday - 15 miles outside - average 9:07 pace. This was pretty slow going the first few miles due to all the ice. I started earlier in the morning, so all the puddles had frozen overnight and were in the beginning stages of melting. I got a little discouraged thinking I'd have to cut my long run short or go back home and finish the rest on the treadmill. Just as those thoughts popped in my head, the trail cleared and there was significant mileage with not much ice/snow. This helped me mentally SO MUCH. I didn't take fuel or water with me because I forgot to prepare for long distances again. The last couple miles were a bit tough due to no fuel or water but I made it through! Overall, this run felt pretty great considering the little hiccups of snow, ice, no water, fuel. This weekend is supposed to be much warmer and I ordered a new hydration vest. So, I expect an amazing run next Sunday!

Total ran this week: 35.4 miles

Happy Running everyone!

Sort:  

That a cool program there!!💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70