Week 15 Marathon Training Recap

in #running5 years ago

Last week marked 15 weeks till Grandma's Marathon and I'm pretty sure it's my highest mileage week for at least the past 2 years! The following weeks will definitely increase and I'm guessing 50ish miles will be my peak week for training for this marathon.

Overall, I felt pretty good except for Sunday, my legs were pretty sore even before my long run. I'm thinking this was due to trying to run through the snow. Running through the snow is quite the workout!

  • Monday - Rest Day
  • Tuesday - 6 miles on the treadmill - average 8:30 pace
  • Wednesday - Rest Day
  • Thursday - 5.1 miles outside - average 8:44 pace
  • Friday - 6.2 miles outside - average 8:56 pace
  • Saturday - 7.7 miles outside - average 8:23 pace. I picked up the pace to 7:22 for the last .7 miles. I definitely feel like I need to incorporate some speed into my weekly mileage now
  • Sunday - 14 miles on the treadmill - average 8:56 pace. On Saturday night we got a dump of snow and the trails/paths aren't cleared till at least mid-day in the area. So, I had to opt for the treadmill again. The treadmill definitely builds mental toughness. The last mile was a little torturous but hopefully, this next weekend I'll be able to get outside. I think 2 hours is my mental max on the treadmill.

Thankfully, spring is on it's way and more miles will be outside.

Hope everyone has a great week of running!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63