News about my leg

in #running6 years ago

On Sunday I wrote my weekly running post. I do a recap like this every week and I will continue at least until the race on May 27th.
IMG_0854.jpg

Nice weather to run


However, last week was a really bad one. I only ran once because of pain at my leg. I put ice once or twice a day and my leg is better now. But it doesn't mean that is gone for good!

Since I don't know a lot of stuff about running (I just follow a training) I asked advice to the community. I didn't know what to do: continue my training seemed not reasonable but stopping completely is not a solution either. But Steemit is a great community and I got answers from different persons. Thanks to them!

The good thing is that all the people who answered said approximately to same thing: I need to reduce the intensity of my runs and run less kilometers.

So I decided to stop the fartlek and interval trainings for now. I will continue to run 3 times a week but just some endurance run (with different paces). If the pain goes away completely, I will maybe do one or two specific trainings before the race.

Because of that, I probably won't reach my target of 1:25 for 20 km. Nevertheless I prefer reduce my training and to run in 1:30 than continue the training and stop at the middle of the race because of the pain.

Thanks again to the people who answered :)

Sort:  

First recover then achieve the target

As it sounds like you have a target not too far down the road, could you do alternative training? Swimming is an activity that doesn't put the same kind of strain on your limbs - is that an option? Good luck with your recovery :)

Thank you for your answer. Yes it could be an alternative but to be honest I don't really like swimming (at least in a swimming pool). People also told me to ride a bike instead of running. Maybe I'll try that :)

Hey @romaincrx hang in there mate. I know there is not a lot we can do from where we are around the world, but I am sure everyone is sending you positive vibes and hope you are back to your normal running as soon as possible.
Definitely enjoy hearing your progress so keep us posted.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thank you for you kind message! Means a lot :)

You're right to cut back your training.

Yes I think so. Thank you for the support

Did you miss your run? It's not too late... go and run!


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 15!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94