Cold weather, hot time! New PB!

in #running6 years ago

Tonight was my second track meet of the season. Unlike the one in March, tonight I was only racing one distance - the 800m.

It was only my 2nd time at this distance so really still learning how to run it.

I was in heat 4 of 9 and pleased to see I wasn't the only adult this time!

IMG-20180425-WA0010.jpg

The wind swirled and the rain was starting but soon forgot that as the gun went.

Relaxing into the race, I pulled out into lane 3 as the bunch seemed to be slowing. I took the lead before the 2nd bend and controlled my effort.

IMG-20180425-WA0013.jpg

As we hit the final bend I could see a shadow on the track of someone moving up on my shoulder. Coming off the bend he was alongside and we were both digging deep.

Fortunately I felt strong and was able to stay ahead to cross the line first in 2:39.78 and secure a new PB by more than 2 seconds.

20180425_224158.jpg

Frustratingly I forgot to start to my watch - I wanted to be able to review how I held the pace but know I ran a negative split as I finished the first lap in 81 seconds.

Happy with that!

Sort:  

I love the simplicity and freedom of running. A pair of shoes and you are all set to explore new trails.
Rachel Boston

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 13!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Congrats man! that's a good time!

Thanks, I'm happy with the time and the performance. I'm still learning the distance so hopefully more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65