Run for a good cause

in #running6 years ago

Today I ran the race for life 5k. For those that don’t know what this is, it a race run by cancer research to raise money so we can beat cancer. This race is a women and children only race and generally it’s more of a fun run. Lots of people walk it as they just want to do something to raise money for a great cause as cancer affects so many of us, be it ourselves, a family member or a friend.

I’ve done this race with my mum the last couple of years as my mum enjoys to run but wouldn’t enter more serious races. The atmosphere is really good and it’s fun to join in with the little Zumba warm up.

AFBEAE40-FBE0-4A36-B79C-129C6388A48B.jpeg

The weather was ok, a little warm for me once we got going but at least it had stopped raining. The course is quite a lot on grass so didn't really want too much rain to make it muddy. There was just under 3000 runners/walkers so they called participants up to the start line in groups of runners, joggers and a walkers. We went with the runners as I’m not keen on starting slow. There was a countdown from 10, the horn sounded and we were off.

I left my mum fairly quickly as I like to start quite fast but I soon slowed as we went onto grass. I am a roadrunner I really don’t like undulating grass! It was a tough run for me ( especially as I’d run 11km yesterday) even though I wasn’t really bothered about my time it wasn’t too bad at about 26. 30 something.

My mum done brilliantly especially as she hasn’t really done any running or training lately, she finished in about 36 minutes. Pretty brilliant for a non runner who, I hope she doesn’t mind, is getting close to the big 70. So we’ll done mum.
8297FA85-6BBC-4D70-8DB4-B67834207EC0.jpeg

F3C6030C-8909-49FC-86EE-FE3FD171D29D.jpeg

Here’s my stats from strava
06705268-F180-49A5-9C37-AEF5006B9DAB.png

57C54801-7BC5-47DF-A251-ABA1733BE6DB.png

Thanks for looking
Happy reading peeps 🖤

Proud to be part of @runningproject and @isotonic

Sort:  

Well done to you and your mum! And for such a good cause!

To be honest, your mum looks great for almost 70 and is hell of a lot more active and fitter than I am.

Good time for both you and your mum!

Our running shoes have magic in them -
the power to transform a bad day into a good day;
frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence;
chocolate cake into muscle.

- Mina Samuels

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 16!
Resteemed by @runningproject

I want to run a race like that!!! well done!

Hi there ! Did you know you can get rewarded for sharing your sports activities posts just by using #steemactivities tag ? Join our community !

Have to be one of the most active families EVER :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80