Running Journal #3: Improvement and Swan Attack

in #running6 years ago

Concrete legs..
Out of breath..
Sweaty brow..
Stinging eyes..

xtn30aakjs.jpg

Yes it’s another run journal from @slobberchops. Yet again I feel I am making no progress at all but the statistics are proving me wrong.

I have done this course twice now, and I’m seeing an improvement of almost 3 minutes from last time. That’s some going!

If only I could feel it, I would get some satisfaction.

We commenced a little later today just after 7am. @bingbabe had already ran around 6 miles earlier, but you wouldn’t have guessed.

76bnrgha65.jpg

The sun was already up, it was hot and the first mistake I realised I had made was not bringing any water. Well I wasn’t going back for it, I would have to parch and it was only 4km or so.

We had planned to do a longer route today, to test my endurance a little more, but the lack of water put a plug in that one.

Lots more stopping, an encounter with an over-excited Labrador had my Golden Retriever, ‘Shadow’ going nuts and generally acting like a crazy dog for a while almost knocking me over.

goctbiaktd.jpg

On the way back, we noticed a couple of swans on the canal bank. @bingbabe put Shadow on the lead and raced past them, the swan almost taking a chunk out of her leg. I was next, and tentatively approached mother swan who was eyeing me gleefully it seemed.

I was thoroughly exhausted but managed to sprint past the angry bird that didn’t lurch for me, and didn’t pursue either. It’s strange where the energy comes from when you need it?

I didnt take any snaps of the aggressive swan, I would rather keep myself intact.

I thought some kippers on toast with a cup of tea, a just reward for my efforts today.

de6dhj2nka.jpg

91z94trxhp.png

oyfahak98f.png

tsnfbt8avd.png

bwa64q1kdv.png

This post was created in #esteem thanks @good-karma

All photographs were taken by myself.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Love your "Protein-fish recovery bars"!!! good prize after "workout"

They were mighty fine, besides stinking the house out :)

great place to run...I think I would break my record when passing swons :)

They are really aggressive creatures, and especially don't like dogs, even though ours is a soft-arse :)

Keep at it! It definitely gets easier after the first week or two. You'll also find that once your body starts to get used to it, it helps to pace yourself. Consciously try not to run too fast, especially at the start of your run, and then you'll notice that your overall speed actually increases.

I feel like I'm barely moving unless its downhill and then the momentum takes me into almost a sprint.

Haha - yes, I remember that feeling.

I thought some kippers on toast with a cup of tea, a just reward for my efforts today.

is this a usual combination in England, kippers and tea

managed to sprint past the angry bird

i heard does swans get be fast, too

I think it is awesome that you are able to improve on your time. My only goal would be making it all the way there and back without dying even if it took me all day!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-09T10:55:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 98.25/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97