Another week on the treadmill

in #running6 years ago

That’s another week of running in the bag. The weather has not really improved here, so it’s running in the gym or nothing for me at the moment. But it seems to be paying off. I’m working on technique and pushing my speed up.


image source

It used to be that running at 10km/h on the treadmill was the fastest I could go, and I could only hold that speed for a short time. Now it’s my warm-up pace. 11.5km/h is the new running pace for me with 12.5 being the challenge to hold.

I can do about 2-5kms at 12.5km/h at the moment, so the plan for next week is to push that distance higher if I can. I’m not going to go too hard though, because right now I’m at the start of my taper for the Wellington Marathon. But I do want to see if I can hold that pace for 10kms at least once this week.

But that is also dependant on the weather. If it sorts its act out and stops raining and being windy, then I’ll head back out onto the road in the morning.

I am finding the treadmill session useful though and I’m of the opinion that they need not be considered horrible and boring. I’m constantly checking my form and pace and tweaking what I’m doing.

For example, mid-week I was running quite hard – 12.5km/h (well that’s quite hard for me) and my right hamstring started to cramp. I was only about 5kms into a 15km run, so I didn’t really want to stop running and deal with it. From the research I’ve done about cramping when you are running, it is because the nerves are getting fried and get all confused about what they are supposed to do. So they fire like crazy, cramping the muscle.

So I tried a cunning plan. I changed the way I was running. I lifted my knees higher, and got a more circular motion going with my legs. That activated a slightly different portion of my muscles. I changed how and where the signals from my brain were sent to my hamstrings. The section that was cramping stopped being overwhelmed and calmed down. Within about 1 kilometre the feeling of cramp had gone and I was able to revert back to the way I was running before.

That’s really useful stuff to know for when you are I the middle of a race and things start cramping up. Just changing your gait can alleviate the cramp without having to stop.

Figuring that out alone makes all the treadmill sessions worthwhile to me.

But the week has not all been stuck inside on the treadmill. Oh no. there was a long run at the end of it. And that was definitely not inside on a treadmill. (I might have wished that it was though).


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Do you like games?

Check out my Steemit Ultra Marathon game where you can win 20SBD for first place, 10SBD for second and 5SBD for third. Get your virtual running shoes on and get ready to run!


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

What made you think of lifting your knees higher? Don't people do that as a warm-up?

I just thought of running differently to see if the different stimulus would have any affect, and it did :-)

I'm experimenting a lot with different running techniques, changing them on-the-fly to adapt to the different conditions of the trail or road.

Lifting your knees higher as you run does different things depending on the surface and steepness of the terrain you are running on.

It's really interesting to see the difference in effect, doing it running uphill and then doing it running downhill.

It also seems to take the pressure off my hip aductors as well (which seems odd).

If I 'shuffle' run, then after about 20km they really hurt. Changing to pulling my knees up makes that go away.

Weird huh? :-)

No not really, an over-used muscle will let us know or if it's wrongly used, pain tells us something. Plus the body can adapt to different ways we make it do things.
You can write a book about it as am sure runner athletes would like to know that. Or just post on its' own. What do u think?

Run when you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up.
Dean Karnazes

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99