I’m back running, finally

in #running6 years ago

Not everyone is happy about it however.


image source

After two weeks off running while I dealt with a virus that put me in bed for five days, I’m finally getting back out on the roads and putting some more miles on my running shoes. I’m back to getting up early and doing my 10km circuit before breakfast, even in the rain.

I really need to get my fitness back in a hurry and to start cranking up the mileage so I’m ready for the WUU2k in July. The race will be here before I know it, and I need to be as ready for it as possible.

My legs are not so happy about this state of affairs however. They thought that since I hadn’t been running for a couple of weeks that I’d given up the whole idea and they could take some time off and relax. They are currently complaining and stiff as all hell. Tomorrow morning will not be a fun place to be once I lace my shoes up and step out my front door.

It’s really surprising just how quickly you lose fitness if you don’t / can’t train. I seem to be running freely as fast as before, and I probably still have reasonable endurance, but my legs really don’t like me right now. I think they will like me even less over the weekend, if it is not raining too much.

But eventually they’ll get used to running again, and I’ll be back to pounding down the trails with a grin on my face (as I wait for the heart attack to kick in).

At least it is good to be back to good health and able to run again. Hopefully that will be my last fight with viruses for a while.


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Do you like games?

Check out my Steemit Ultra Marathon game where you can win 20SBD for first place, 10SBD for second and 5SBD for third. Get your virtual running shoes on and get ready to run!


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Happy to see you are recovered.
Don’t worry, you will get fitted very quickly, at least aerobically, the strengthening will take longer but not so much
Keep on running!

Thanks. I'm feeling better already ;-)

I've also been frustrated about how fast I loose muscles. Hopefully you're back on track after a few more runs.

thanks. I think after a week back into it, I'm starting to get it all back ;-)

Good to see that you're back!

It's good to be back ;-)

Go out there and punish those lazy legs :)) but be gentle with the joints they tend to be less forgiving

hehehe punish is something I understand all too well ;-)

Our running shoes have magic in them -
the power to transform a bad day into a good day;
frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence;
chocolate cake into muscle.

- Mina Samuels

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 16!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Good to have you back running...Your legs just need a little more convincing.
Regards @run.vince.run

they sure do, especially first thing in the morning hehe

maybe the bit of the muscle that cramped has gone, so it will be a blessing in disguise

yup. that cramp has gone, but now i have some new ones - sigh hehehe

Just think, if you had no pains you would have nothing to complain about.
Wait until you get old, then you get lots to complain about.

only the dead (or unmarried) feel no pain ;-)

Self-inflicted, when the guy came out with pretty ropes to tie you up you could have run, there was a Roller at the doy, and a standby if that one stalled.
Take time, after the first 50 years the pain becomes normal, probably miss it if it went, stage

@trevor.george You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

well thanks for that :-)

You are very welcome. Keep up the quality and the high Steem etiquette!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22