Fifty runs till May #30 & 31

in #running6 years ago

Due to a Christmas party at work yesterday I couldn't write an update. So I'll combine yesterdays' run with todays' Langlaufen.

Run 30/50: 5km in heavy snow

  • Weather: 4 degrees, felt like 1 according to my Garmin, but the snow made it even worse
  • Distance: 5 kilometers
  • Time: 28,5 minutes
  • Pace: 5:41 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,3 = Improving

Yesterday was just like last week pro-forma. Stay in shape in case I won't be able to do my planned Cross-Country Skiing/Langlaufen today. Unfortunately the weather-gods were not on my side. During my run it snowed heavily. The worst I've had during any run so far. You can see some of it on the pictures below. In the end I did 5km in 28,5 minutes.

Run 31/50: Perfect Cross-Country Skiing conditions

  • Weather: 3 degrees, felt like -1 according to my Garmin
  • Distance: 10,4 kilometers
  • Time: 1 hour 14 minutes
  • Pace: 8,5 kph
  • Training Effect: 2,5 = Maintaining

Fresh snow fell yesterday and the sun was shining brightly. Excellent conditions for a nice morning Langlaufen. I really got early and easily in my stride and the tracks were already used and re-done today, so I could really practise my technique and build up a nice constant speed, without over-doing it or injuring myself. In the end I did 10,4km in 1 hour and 14 minutes.

IMG_0623.JPG
Perfect conditions today. Those 'tracks' are called Loipen and you move in those

IMG_0670.JPG
It was perfect today, what a contrast to yesterday ...

IMG_0669.JPG
... You can't choose the weather, I take what I get

IMG_0599.JPG
Completely soaked when I finished yesterday

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-15 um 13.47.04.png

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-15 um 13.49.29.png

If the winter remains like this, I have some nice Langlauf sessions ahead of me!

!steemitworldmap 47.07342246758822 lat 8.838227047534247 long Studen, Sz D3SCR

Thanks for your support and keep going!

Doron

Sort:  

Congratulations @wolfje, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2514 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2743.93. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You know @wolfje, running under the rain always counts as a double training!... and the earnings of the post are the probe!
Well done!
Keep on running!

What do you mean by 'probe'? I'll still count it as one excersice, otherwise I'd beat your easily with all the rain and snow I've run in over here ;-)

hahhaah, indeed has been a very tough run!!!

Great post and lovely pictures. I don’t know how you run in snow, it’s been very cold here in England and I struggle but at least I don’t have to run in snow x

LOL, you should see the post I just put up. Running in real snow was a real challenge. I had to walk in some parts, otherwise I would have injured myself. Thanks for your support.

great ..
upvote me please ..

What are you training for? Or is it the combination of the runs that you're striving for?

Mainly to remain fit and keep up with my kids. That's how I got into it, seriously. I wrote a piece about it a few weeks ago. Now running makes fun and especially if I'm the only one out there under 'extreme' conditions. Maybe I'm also a bit mad in the head to go out under those conditions ;-)

Awesome Landscape dear Steemian.

Thanks. It's 2 locations.

What do you usually eat before and after the run?

I try not to eat directly before I run, but afterwards I usually just eat my lunch or breakfast depending on the time of the run.

wow this is DOPE, i really like skiing and i can recomend to go to northern part of Sweden. They have awesome long distance tracks called STF in the mountains. Like 20km from house to house !!!

Are they suitable for cross-country skiing? That's the only thing I do. Sweden is definitely on the bucketlist, but not near the top.

i should try to run in snow ,can i get sick im an active soccer player

Running in the snow is hard, I guess for a trained footballer it might be easier, but it takes a lot more energy to do one step. I didn't/don't get sick from my snow activities, but I dress carefully and I take a hot shower as soon as I can after a activity. Feel free to join me on a run if you're in the neighboorhood, although under normal circumstances you probably outrun me by miles :-D

Sorry for the late replay i would love but i don't live there to bad ,but i will try someday and i will make a post for 10 mile run in the snow .Good job here keep going

You got a 3.50% upvote from @upme requested by: @wolfje.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63626.78
ETH 3301.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91