You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Belief In Your Running Ability

in #runningproject5 years ago

This is great! I remember when I was first getting into running back in like... 2010 / 2011... I started to realized how much my mood / headspace would affect my performance:

  • If I started out in a poor mood, usually, I wouldn't run as well;
    • I now try to use time out running as something to bolster my mood and hit a bit of a 'reset' button.
  • If I was dreading the exercise, as soon as I got within 2~3k of the end of my run, my legs would just die. "Close enough", my brain would think, and just stop telling my legs to move;
    • Now I approach it as, "2~3k left! I can do anything for 10~15 minutes!", and find another gear at the end;

I'll admit to putting a bit more emphasis on visualization and positive thinking when I go climbing as compared to my running, which I take pretty casually these days. But it certainly goes a long way. If I start a climbing route thinking, "There's no way I can do this... it's way too hard/scary/runout!" there's a HUGE chance that the entire episode will be a struggle, and my brain wont recruit even close to the power that's required (or available).

The mental game is real.

Great post!

Sort:  

The weird thing is you mostly don't realize your doing it half the time...I think that could be the greatest skill to achieve from all this. I tell people all the time they need to be positive and believe in their ability but I am just as bad sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67