You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Victory Day Russia - Children's View

in #russia6 years ago

Nobody celebrates the war - they celebrate its end.

So true! I love that your 'remembrance' included things like protecting books and the personal stories involved with war. When I taught high school, I spent a lot of time focused on our Canadian Remembrance Day and often had my students visit the Senior Home not far from our school to hear first hand accounts from vets there. It's so important for kids to remember and put a face to the stories in the hopes of it never being repeated!

Sort:  

That is so cool that you had your students do this. I was fortunate enough to grow up in a military city (San Diego) and many of my friends' parents and grand-parents were active duty or vets. I remember one day several of us went outside to play "guns" and one of those vets suggested that if we played this game and were to "die" that maybe we shouldn't be able to play again. This gave us a pause.

Wow, that would give a kid pause for thought!

Yes, my students used to love it, not to mention how much the seniors enjoyed the "liveliness" in their day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67