A week in Sabah

in #sabah5 years ago

It's been about ten years since I've been in Sabah. I know a lot hasn't changed but definitely there is a lot that has been upgraded and enhanced.

lb3hontcym.jpg

Lots of fear ran inside me before the trip as one of the most important thing to do for the whole trip was to travel two hours deep into the mountains. The lodge that my wife and I stayed was 1900m above sea level and this place is approximately around 500 meters from the infamous Mount Kota Kinabalu. I climbed to the summit 5 years ago. It was tough.

9g5m7b0ur4.jpg

The D Villa lodge. I am going to write about this whole trip on my WordPress blog. This trip was more of an adventure. I have always been to big cities and go strolling around and about in big malls. This time, it was going to be different. Everything went smoothly. I rented this car for four days and had planned out the whole route, written it down in my notebook. Four pages long.

40rs3xc4sl.jpg

The Myvi that I rented for the journey. It was going to take two hours to drive to the mountainous roads that is carved deep into the mountains. There were loads of huge trucks heading up and down the path. The next worry was when I drove down the mountain, I had to drive slowly or else I may risk having my car fly out of the path and down the valleys below. The myvi is a Malaysia made car. It had this really low centre of gravity to ensure that going I was able to stick on the roads like a moving rock.

At night, it was cold. At 16 degrees. I wore three shirts for the three nights there.

mvypzzcstz.jpg

A lot of hikers come here for a night before heading towards the Summit of Mount KK which was around 4095m above the sea. I climbed that years ago and I don't think I would want to ever do that ever again. I has caused some permanent damage to my knees.

I am back in Miri at the moment but I do miss that trip especially free of worry and not knowing what would happen next. I went to the cattle farm, fish spa, hot springs, visit Mount KK and also drive around the city. I stayed in the heart of the city when I was back from the mountains. Along the drive, when you glance down, you would see lots of mountains and I do wonder to myself, how is it that houses and villages could have been built at the sides of the mountain. Those who have done that I believe deep inside are fearless. They have what I would call balls of steel.

65svb1jzlu.jpg

Gonna be writing my trip very soon in more detail in my blog. Last year, after I went to Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia, I wrote a 10000 word blog which was five or six pages long about the trip. This time, it may be longer. It's a week. Things are different. Sarawak and Sabah are neighbours on Borneo seperate by Brunei Darussalam in the middle but the cultural difference can be felt when I was there.

@luueetang

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Sarawakians go Sabah need to fill up a small white form at the custom ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi hi Leo, don't need. Just get the ic or passport scanned and that's it. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28