It's the 13th of May.

in #sad6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,
It's your potential blogger here again.

First and foremost I want to wish everyone around the world a very happy Mother's Day, I wish you guys the best as you celebrate your mums on this very remarkable day.

Mums happen to be the best friends a kid can have. They are in fact Love's chemical content in human form @oluwalium 😁. Unfortunately, as memorable and widely celebrated as this day is, it holds for me a scar that I've lived with for the past eight years. Today the thirteenth of May 2018 marks eight years since I lost my mum.

I'd give you the story but I already did in a post I did over a week ago with link here
https://steemit.com/sad/@efetarhena/reflections-5a8c58e116375

I wouldn't want to talk much about the events leading to her passing so I'd go straight to doing something I do every year since her passing. Although its kind of childish but it gives me closure so bear with me.

Letters to Mum episode 8.

IMG_20171203_123233_194.jpg

Hello mum, I'd skip the formalities of writing a date and an address since you know where I am and I know you're in heaven where you should be. I do hope you're doing well and I hope you're still proud of your children up there.

First and foremost I'd like to tell you that as I promised last year, I am writing this letter from Lagos with the rest of our family unlike the previous years when I was far away from them. There are a lot of new updates this year, so many that I don't know where to start. But as you always use to say "everything starts from somewhere". So with this I'm just going to go on.

Right now I am sitting on the pouch of our Lagos residence with kehinde, I think a serious rain is about to start so we're all outside enjoying "the cool before the storm".

lol I can never forget that phrase.

As you predicted, kehinde is now taller than I am and he has a far deeper voice than I could have imagined. He is now a senior student with his twin sister Taye and they seem to be getting along now than they ever did. Although we seem to be a bit distant but this is probably because of the time I've spent away but not to worry, we're catching up on lost time, we've even come up with our own special handshake and he tells me everything that's been going on all this while I was away. It would be correct to say there's no dull moment with us.

I no you said that when it comes to family we should avoid picking favorites but Taye has easily become my favorite.

"figuratively though", I'd not break your rules😏.

Lol She is still as loud mouthed as she was but she also gives the best tips and wise cracks. I always have her to thank when I need information about anything because she seems to know everything about everything, I guess that's as a result of her very observant nature.

Meanwhile Dedi is all done with secondary school and is about to get into the University this year. She scored higher than I did in jamb with a score of 248. She intends to study a course in the social sciences like I and daddy did and she's looking towards the direction of business administration. She always think of claiming back dad's company from our so called "usurper" uncles. As for me, I think of starting up something else and I keep suggesting same thing to her. I only wish I had the money to send her outside the country to study but I'll never say never.

I'll keep striving to achieve that for her.

Sareri is going to be graduating next year just like I am. I haven't spoken to her in so long but she called me today

I guess it's one of those miracles of life you so fondly spoke of.

She seems to be doing perfectly OK but I can't help but think something is up because she seems to be very withdrawn, I mean more than usual but looking above that, she is doing very well for herself academically.

Aunty Yinka is been the best mother figure anyone could ask for, she is keeping the family in check and is the best friend so far.

Today everybody has been a bit withdrawn, probably as a result of your memorial but nobody talks of it although we all remember. Don't want to be getting all emotional I guess but she has brought the cheer this evening to us all.

as for the image, am still keeping the memory of dad's favorite vintage car which I'm still trying to get back from his brother.

I don't expect a reply from you this time because I never get one but I want you to know that we all love you and we'll keep making you proud. Till next year mum.

Much love
Efe

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by efetarhena from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This letter is creative an comes directly from your heart

Thank you sir.
Indeed it was heart felt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60