Wear Your Seatbelt, Folks.

in #safety5 years ago

I was having lunch at a restaurant a little while back. At the next table over, there was commotion happening as people were departing and someone dropped a pen. I retrieved it and handed it back to an older woman who was wearing an arm brace and a leg brace. Her lower face was askew and it was obvious she'd been in a terrible accident not long ago. She took her sunglasses off to fix her sorrowful eyes on me. She thanked me, smiled and said, "please wear your seatbelt and don't take anything for granted." She left, came back and handed me the pen and I'm in the pantheon of idiots for not getting her number before she left again.

Anyway, wear your seatbelt and don't take anything for granted. That's from an expert with beautiful eyes and a lovelier soul.

On the other hand, I had an ex that lost her aunt to car accident. She was only 20 years old when her car was run off a country road in rural Rockingham County, Virginia. She was wearing a seatbelt, but it broke her neck. Not sure, but it seems she wasn't wearing it properly. While this situation does happen occasionally, it is actually quite rare. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that seat belts have saved around 300,000 lives since 1975, in the US alone. This is regarding serious accidents – those which would have produced fatal consequences had the belt not been worn. The NHTSA believes that the number of lives saved could have be far higher if more people had buckled up.

Sort:  

Safety is must to follow for enjoy your life and do things in a right way. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It always drives me crazy when people take the one or two instances where seat belts caused an issue and run with that like it is the rock solid truth in every instance. I remember growing up my dad wouldn't even start the car until he hear four clicks. One for each of us in the vehicle. It was just a great habit to get us into.

I definitly always wear a seat belt. It actually feels more strange when I forget to put it on. I was in an ac ident once and I couldn't imagine what would have happened if I wasnt wearing one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wearing a seat belt is a precaution that should always be taken. More lives have been saved by wearing it than those who have not. In my family, the car won't start if everyone doesn't wear a seat belt. I always recommend it. It is sad to know of these terrible experiences, @pinkspectre. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99