Falling for Wing on Wing

in #sailing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6799.JPG

To me wing on wing is an experience unlike any other. The sails feel like lungs. They breath peacefully with a steady downwind breeze and bring SV Tout Va Bien to life. Today I reveled in my good fortune to have gorgeous cool crisp fall air paired with the warmth of sunshine and a steady downwind breeze...

and of course, a token bulldog - Rueben

IMG_6802.JPG

Rueben was an excellent first mate for our fall day sail. Between grunts and sniffs he managed to find a sunny spot and have a nap on the deck.
It sure is a dog's life.

We enjoyed a lovely wing on wing sail for 2 hours this afternoon. As the air cooled and the daylight dwindled it was time to furl the sails and head back into the harbour. I found myself thinking that our fall sail had me falling for wing on wing all over again.
Kind of like that Journey song - Feels Just Like the First Time.
What songs make your toes tap and hearts glow?

All content is my own unless otherwise stated. Thanks for the support Steemians!

Sort:  

Do you use the spinniker pole on the jib when your wing on wing ? Downwind sailing is so peaceful in how it reduces the apparent wind and makes everything so calm and quiet .

I do not use a spinnaker pole on my boat, but I have used a pole on other boats. I do secure my main and my mizzen when sailing wing on wing. Heck yes to the calm and quiet!

Cool. Where are you based ?

Nice. Beautiful part of the world. I am up in Prince George. I have not done a lot of sailing since I left Australia for Canada two years ago although I did get a couple of weeks sailing in Alaska last summer.

Small world!! I am born and raised in Vanderhoof!

"wing on wing", is that the same as a "butterfly"? Main sail out one way, genoa out the other way.

I'm also missing a pole, and if there are significant waves, the genoa will be flapping. Not good for the genoa, not good for the speed, and very annoying for the captain.

All true things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67