Trading Weekend Warrior Pants for Racing Foulies

in #sailing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2613.JPG

My girl SV Tout Va Bien soaking up all the Vitamin Sea she can.

The last month has been filled with sailing adventures.
Sidney Spit, Haystack Islets, Murder Bay, Sooke Basin, and Discovery Island.
Suffice to say I've been wearing my weekend warrior pants!

This weekend I will be jettisoning myself outside of my coastal cruising comfort zone, and will be crewing on a race boat SV Northern Lights (Nordic 44) in the Swiftsure International Yacht Race. The anxious anticipation of whats to come has me contemplating strategy, gear, and of course the best trail mix to pack. I'll have at least one night watch shift during the 2-3 day race and I'm told proper snacks are a must!

This is the 75th year of the Swiftsure International Yacht Race, and nearly 200 boats are registered! SV Northern Lights will be competing in the Juan De Fuca (Clallam Bay) race. I've never seen the boat, or met the crew... I'm sure we'll have a right proper adventure bond after the race though!

Image from www.swiftsure.org

I am genuinely excited to push myself, and to learn. Rest assured my camera is packed in my crew bag and a proper Swiftsure post will be here soon!

Any advice from fellow steemian sailors and racers?

All content is my own unless otherwise stated
Thanks for the Support Steemians

Sort:  

Good luck!!

I would say to try to sleep or rest (listen to music, read or something below deck) anytime you are off shift unless you are eating. Those night shifts can be exhausting, especially if the weather isn't cooperating. At those points, it will be easy to regret sitting above deck instead of trying to fit in a midday nap...

Thank you! I will keep that in mind for sure :)

What fun @Hayles, it must be so freeing to sail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70