I have a dream - and I am going for it no matter what!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sailingadventure6 years ago (edited)

I have a dream, my friends,

and I am willing to go for it - no matter what.
This is dedicated to the dreamers, to the crazy ones who do not listen to others, the ones who don't give up on their dreams, the ones who go for it, no matter how crazy it sounds.

You can call me crazy, I do not care. But I have to make an anouncement.
I am going for my dream, once and for all, I decided I am going to make this happen for myself.

I am going to cross the Atlantic ocean.
Me alone in a sailing boat without any sailing experience and not at the best of my health.

There is so much that's challenging:

  • I do not have sailing experience
  • I do not have a boat yet
  • I have never sailed alone
  • I am suffering from nickel allergy and histamine intolerance, which does not allow me to eat canned food.
  • I am suffering from fatigue, when eating stuff high in histamine and nickel
  • I was suffering for over 10 years from panick attacks and over 7 years from social anxiety
  • I have no clue how I am going to make it.

But unless I do not know how I am going to make it, I know THAT I am going to make it!

And now I am going all in. Do you wanna follow me on my trip? Wanna join me virtually on my way to live my dream?
I am going to film my whole journey and I am going to put myself all out. No secrets, nothing to hide.

Sailing over the Atlantic to Barbados. That's my dream. That's what I am going to do.
Do you think it's crazy? Do you think I am on a suicide mission?
I am going to come alive. Pure, raw and alive!

Stay tuned for more!

Best wishes,
your atlanticmatt

PS: Please give me a follow here on Steemit and check out my Instagram Account

Sort:  

Hi Alantic Matt,
Well done for having a dream and putting it out there that this is what you are going to do. We have just began sailing around the Med after living on a boat for 2 years in Falmouth. I would highly recommend that actually as it really gets you used to the boat life but also saves lots of money whilst you are working or preparing for your trip. You get to know the boat, what you need and don't need, and what adaptions you need to live in your floating Castle!. I look forward to hearing your progress.

You also have lots of opportunity to practice your cooking and food buying in prep for your voyage.

Get healthy and sail - may the winds be at your back.

Hi @danielhime,

thank you! I really need to get healthy and need to get a boat :-)
Stay tuned!


If you like travelling, you gonna love this!
Check out my profile on Instagram

@atlantic-matt, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Hi @introduce.bot,

I did. Are you a bot?


If you like travelling, you gonna love this!
Check out my profile on Instagram

Hello Matt,

sounds interesting!

Actually I do plan the same, however: Things did progress quite a lot at my end. See: History of my ship "Selene" / Plans with the ship

Since you announce your plan, I guess you already have some kind of timeline. I'm quite interested to take a look at it. Maybe you can share it in one of you next posts?

Alright, thats it for now, left a follow ;)

Martin

Hi Martin,

sounds very interesting! I definitely will check your journey out for sure! At my side it goes slowely but steady - at least I am telling that to myself ;-)
Well, we will hear from each other!

Cheers and happy sailing wherever you are!
Your atlanticmatt

Hey Matt, we share a similar dream, and there are a couple of people here that actually making this dream come true as we speak. To start with, if you live in the US i recommend you finding an ASA (american sailing association) course - its a 3 day sailing course, and its the best course you can take for the $ ( to me it was $500 in 2016).

Also, follow @knot - this is a blog where all sailing content gets resteemed to...you can find a lot of experienced people there that can maybe answer your questions.

And welcome aboard steemit :)

People have done similar things before and survived, so the probability of survival is absolutely non-zero ;)

Hi @tobixen,

thank you! That's inspiring! Even if I heart about people who died or crashed and had to be rescued... there are a lot of that kind of stories out there.
But on the other hand there are some people who made it - I hope I am gonna be one of them :-)


If you like travelling, you gonna love this!
Check out my profile on Instagram

Hallo @atlantic-matt, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Chat unter https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei. Mehr Informationen über den deutschsprachigen Discord-Chat findest Du in diesem Beitrag.

Wenn Du auf Deutsch schreibst, verwende immer #deutsch als einen der 5 Hashtags, um Deine Reichweite zu erhöhen.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

Hi @neuvorstellungen! Vielen Dank! Wie hast du mich denn überhaupt gefunden?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65