You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sam-saturday--Something About.Me

in #sam-saturday5 years ago

haha! wow melinda010100! this is a marvelous post, I love it! The story and all the vintage photos are so interesting, it's quite a heritage. Did your dad ever cook in his spare time?

Sort:  

He didn't, but I think only because my mother ruled her kitchen with an iron fist. My memory was that she was always in it. I never even washed a dish in my mother's kitchen! My grandmother taught me how to cook and bake.

wow so your mother didn't want anyone in her kitchen..not even to teach you..how interesting!
how are you today, are you all caught up?

I feel like I have been slacking this week. But I did get a big pot of borscht made. Do you like beets?

oh uhhh beets are actually probably the one food that I don't like the taste of at all. What is borscht?

Beet soup! With cabbage and carrots and potatoes and onions and I love mine with a big spoonful of sour cream on top

oh! well couldn't it be made without the beets? lol. I know they're really good for you but for some reason they actually almost make me sick just smelling them and I'm not a picky eater, I mean I eat everything and anything.

Isn't that funny? They are probably my favorite vegetable. I first had borscht when I was in Russia and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. I came home and learned to make it myself and now I always make a supply and have some in the freezer that I can pull out during cold winter nights for dinner!

lol. oh my..does it have a strong beet taste too? I'm sure it does or it wouldn't be that good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74