The tales that deceived me|Sankofa writing contest

in #sankofa6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, it's @magatha and I couldn't just pass by this contest.
It's soo much fun to partake in this. I have alot of tales or rather lies I was told while growing. You can't imagine when someone tells you never to hide your breast as a child so that it can be very big as a grown up, am still waiting for that big breast till now. This is just a tip of the tales I was told. Sit back and crack your ribs.

Broom causes barreness
v0_web.jpgsource
As a little girl, I loved sweeping very well and that day my grand mother just returned from the village. From that day, my life was changed with igbo tradition. As I was sweeping, the broom mistakenly touched my leg, suddenly my grandma shouted with a strong igbo language, Nne, I gaha amu nwa which means I won't have a child , I became very confused with tears rolling down my eyes. I started kneeling to my grandma to reverse the curse. I cried and cried, my eyes looked like mango. It was not funny, I started jumping any time I sweep so that the broom won't touch me.

Bury my tooth under a pillow
images (43).jpgsource
This was a dissapointing tale for me. While growing teeth, I forcefully removed my tooth most times to bury under my pillow to produce dollar. This tale was told by my uncle which I believed. when I tried it for the first time, I wrote a list of kuli kuli, Tom-Tom and Tangerine to buy when I see my dollar. I woke up inorder to see different currency,with so much joy, I opened my pillow only to see my tooth looking at me eye for an eye. Mahn! That lie caught me big time

Sleeping with your legs on the wall
538f87116bb3f71c61d5d4c1-750-562.jpgsource
I was calmly placing my legs on the wall to write a story on my lap when I was little. As a result of that, I fell asleep with my legs on the wall. All I knew next was, I woke up in a night devotion organized by my parents. What happened ? "Am a witch" happened. I became confused until my mom said its only witches that sleeps with their legs on the wall, you need to see deliverance that night, the more I explained, the more demons they were seeing. I suffered big time, my neck was in pain due to constant I wanna be pastors by my parents

Don't remove your scarf after church service
images (45).jpgsource
Is this one that is still weakening me till now. Service in church ended one Sunday, it was time to go home, I and my sisters had removed our head scarfs since we were to go home. Suddenly, my mother came to whisper in my ears, in her words-"don't you know that the blessings received for Sunday service have removed" . Nobody told me to put back my scarf till I got home after such lie . I tightened the scarf on my head so that the blessings will enter well well.

Lizard should not see your broken tooth
images (44).jpgsource
The most annoying thing about this tale, is that, we as children started finding lizards trouble that they are thieves. I would run with my tooth to a lizard and tell it that I won't let it see my tooth. If you allow lizard to see your tooth, my brother your own has gone, your tooth will never grow again. I believed it like Tom and Jerry

Let me go before this page won't be enough to say all the lie lie I was told when small. Nigerian lies ehn, carry heavy weight. I give una hand oo. Anyway, let me come and be going.🚶🚶🚶

It's @magatha and these are my tales.
Thanks @sankofa for this privilege to remember all the lies. Lol

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I belived it like Tom and Jerry .
It should be believed instead of belived.

Hahahaha. That was so interesting to read. A lot comes to my mind too. Maybe I should also enter this challenge ;-)

You should enter

@dante, please convince him😊

Please enter o.. It's really fun.. Thanks alot for the comment😁😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97