#save(d)theCrew!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

in #savethecrew6 years ago

Today is a good day.

Today news came out of Columbus that my local soccer team, the Columbus Crew, who have been under the threat of relocation by a treacherous and dishonest owner, are finally close to a deal that will keep the Crew in Columbus. This has been weighing on me heavily ever since the announcement came, which was a year ago on the 16th. For those of you who may think I'm overreacting since it's just a game...I agree. . . In a way. The thing is, the Crew are a lot more to me than just a sports team. The Crew have created connections for me with other people that would have never been made possible otherwise. I've made friends with people solely on the pretense that we are fans of the Crew and/or playing soccer, and we now connect on other levels. I've spent so many hours both enjoying incredible wins, along with spending time pouting about how they can never score, and I can't wait to do that with my sons.

If you're curious on the impact that sports can have on a community, I suggest you read the highly acclaimed articles (Me and the Crew: a #SavetheCrew Story and 'Like Church': Crew Fans and a Summer Under Threat) by fellow Steemian and renowned #savethecrew mystery writer, @juanersatzman.

image.png

Sort:  

That’s great! I saw many Saw the Crew signs when I was up there last time.

I think that was for a lumberjack convention ;)

But seriously, I'm so pumped! Have you ever been to a game?

That was Save the Crew signs. Lol. No I haven’t been up that way at the right time. My cousins go to a lot of games.

Gotcha, you should join them sometime and let me and @yumyumseth and @juanersatzman know when you do, and say hi!

Sounds good.

Hi @aweber!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.136 which ranks you at #3026 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3028).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #185.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99