BE STEADFAST AND STRONG; DO NOT COMPROMISE

in #sc-n5 years ago

Joshua 14:6-15

6 Now the people of Judah approached Joshua at Gilgal, and Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite said to him, “You know what the Lord said to Moses the man of God at Kadesh Barnea about you and me. 7 I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh Barnea to explore the land. And I brought him back a report according to my convictions, 8 but my fellow Israelites who went up with me made the hearts of the people melt in fear. I, however, followed the Lord my God wholeheartedly. 9 So on that day Moses swore to me, ‘The land on which your feet have walked will be your inheritance and that of your children forever, because you have followed the Lord my God wholeheartedly.’[a]
10 “Now then, just as the Lord promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years since the time he said this to Moses, while Israel moved about in the wilderness. So here I am today, eighty-five years old! 11 I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. 12 Now give me this hill country that the Lord promised me that day. You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but, the Lord helping me, I will drive them out just as he said.”
13 Then Joshua blessed Caleb son of Jephunneh and gave him Hebron as his inheritance. 14 So Hebron has belonged to Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite ever since, because he followed the Lord, the God of Israel, wholeheartedly. 15 (Hebron used to be called Kiriath Arba after Arba, who was the greatest man among the Anakites.)
Then the land had rest from war.


Image src

We read Caleb requesting in today’s text that the land that was promised to Him for coming forth with a good report when Moses sent him and Joshua to spy the land of Canaan be given to him.

Caleb was more than eighty years old but he still was ready to battle to get the land promised to him.
If we must have head way in the world, in our family, in the entertainment industry, religious institution, the political sector, the education institution and economy, we must be ready to enter the systems of the world and take definite biblical stands for the Kingdom.

Most times we tend to forget the promises God made with us at a distressful time, happy time, sorrowful times, sad times and even during famine and begin to compromise the biblical standards given to us in the scripture just because we can’t be steadfast and strong in the Lord.

Let’s not forget that scripture says we are not of the world and that’s why it made us understand that we are the salt of the earth, so in no way we being the salt of the earth are expected to compromise because when we compromise, we lose our savor; taste

An example is when you put water into a salt it no longer becomes a salt but water because it has lost it value, because you have added water to it so most times you tend to pour it away.

Funny enough, our God is a merciful God so He being God wouldn’t throw us away. In as much as He is a merciful God, there is always a punishment for compromising just like Hebrews says that He discipline those He (God) calls His sons.

Daily, the devil uses the systems of the world to frustrate believers and bring them to a state of compromise.

We see believers compromising to get jobs, appointments, admissions and more.
Jesus called Satan the prince of the (systems of the) world, it doesn’t mean the devil owns the world but rather, the devil has been able to fashion systems in the world that doesn’t look like God.

As believers, we are to take back and restructure the systems to favour believers and the Kingdom. We must bring the systems to heaven down to earth.

PRAYER

Lord Jesus, help me to strongly take definite stands for the kingdom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93