A conversation with a scammer

in #scam6 years ago

Recently I was in a Telegram ICO group for a particular project, asking some technical questions for the admins to answer. This has become a norm for almost all ICO have their official Telegram channel to interact with the public. This very ICO group is quite famous that it has over 37k members in it, some of the 'safety admins' constantly repeating some anti-scammer message saying the true admins will not direct messaging the members.

And I bumped into one

I guess I was targeted after making a few appearances by asking questions.

I knew immediately this is a scammer when he first messaged me. He was using the photo and name of one of the admins in the Telegram group. A simple reverse tracking can clearly tell he was a fake. I was in the playful mood this morning and I decided to see how he plays his tricks on the victims.


Blockchain account. Pffffttttt.

I almost couldn't hold my laughter. He cannot even get the crypto glossaries correct. Or maybe the victims are usually less educated so he has to use the conventional concept for bait the fish easier?


Finally he provided the real deal, his ETH address. I took a look at it at ethscan.io, zero balance with an empty record. Fresh address.

To make him more greedy, I even suggest that I could invest 300 more ETH that I wish I have. But damn, this man is somewhat a kind-hearted scammer that he would just take the 50 ETH deal!


Scammer examination time, not bad of a reaction from him. I would give an A for that answer.


Here comes the second exam, the technical round. While he still busying proving his genuineness.


OK, he used the "dragging" tactic for the first question, not bad. What about one more technical question?


He seems like panicked a little bit and gave me some confusing answers which are conflicting with one another.

And he got annoyed obviously. Thus trying to steer the focus away and urge me to 'invest'.


Too bad my works kick in and I have to end this game. God this man was scamming around without even reading up the Whitepaper.

Also he claimed he made millions by scamming this way, not sure how true about this statement. If it is not a lie, I'd be the more qualified scammer, damn.


今天在 Telegram 遇到个骗子,刚巧有兴致我就和他玩了一下。有兴趣的就去看看上面的截图吧。最后谨记,在虚拟世界你看到的不一定是真实的,时刻怀疑一切才是王道。


Claim free coins from these Airdrops

ETU NAS CloudBounce Vyper Apollo
BitSong Kelta Lendo Blok NEOCash

Sort:  

You got me laughing with the 'kind-hearted scammer'. I guess he'll go back to his drawing board to hone his skills.

Or maybe he earned enough for the day already?

Well, this crypto universe is so big and with a lot of opportunities that is not strange that someone with enough skills to lie and manipulate people take advantage of it. Too bad. Thanks for share your experience and open our eyes to what can happen to any of us.

Always keep our eyes opened and be suspicious to everything in this space.

Dont you think we should try and take him down?

I hate scammers

Well, it is not going to be easy. What we can do is just defend and educate ourselves well.

Well i got as far as these lines before severely doubting the legitimacy of this!:

nicely done, sir.

Haha, that 'sir thing is kinda hilarious too.

I think he will fresh hacker so still he was kind hearted , but after conversation with you now he will improve his mistakes:)

He sounds like a seasoned hacker to me tho.

Just wondering if the scammer was really making 680 ETH

Exactly my thought when I saw that.

scamming is a lucrative busyness kekeke

Damn lucrative I would say.

😂😂😂😂😂This is so funny. When scammers don't know that scamming has levels and we can be better scammers if we choose to.

Well, he successfully scammed some others nonetheless, if what he claimed was true.

Scammer is being scammed ahaha

Was a nice conversation, gotta learn the art of scamming.

Scammers are everywhere, luckily you are smart enough to notice it, by the way funny conversation with the scammer! I should always be alert and extra careful, wouldnt want to be the next victim!

They are literally everywhere. Make sure you what you are doing and you should be fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71