Beware of virus-infested wallets!

in #scam7 years ago

   I was checking out a new crypto today and, surprise, surprise! It was infested with a trojan virus labeled by the anti-virus as "Trojan.MSIL.CoinStealer.on". To put this into perspective, so you don't think it's a false positive: I've had more than 20 wallet programs installed on my computer without any virus detections. I'm using one of the top 2 antiviruses in the world, Kaspersky Internet Security. In more than 7 years of use, it only once gave me a somewhat-false positive when I was using a hacking tool, which was not really a danger for my computer, since I was the one using it.

   The currency in question is called Bata(BTA). Beware of such programs! Always use a great anti-virus to protect yourself from losing all of your coins! If you can't afford one, I recommend getting the absolutely free Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool and scan every wallet before and after installing it!

   Here is the virus detection, and the virus description:

Information taken from Symantec.com

   In plain English, this means that this virus will copy your BitCoin wallet information (and possibly other wallets if it was further developed), send it to the hacker that made the virus, and then delete itself from your computer, so you'll never know it was there!

   I hope you found this article useful. Please upvote it if you did, follow me for more quality content, and resteem if you want to help others protect themselves.

Sort:  

Thanks for this information. On my suggested Coin ReputationRank, I guess a virus invested wallet would earn -1000 points. :)

Haha, yeah :)) I can't believe they are using a 3 years old virus and they are gaining market cap! It's mind- blowing! The poor investors will never know what hit them...

I would contact the admins wherever this is hosted at and warn them of this.

It's hosted on the official site of the currency. I'm assuming they know about it :P

You can always try to find who is hosting it and go to them. Errm I mean who's server it actually is.

That's a pretty nasty virus. Good thing you had a great antivirus program. I hadn't heard of Kaspersky before. Some people are so evil out there...genius at doing some of this stuff like hidden viruses...but evil.

Search "top antivirus 2017" and you will definitely find it in the top 2 on almost any list. It's extremely good and I highly recommend it!

I hadn't heard of Kaspersky before

We're alike, it happened the same to me with Elvis...

Who's Elvis?

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the appreciation!

Gnarly bruh! Thx for the info.

Started following, great posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61