WARNING! IRL app is hijacking contacts and selling them!

in #scams6 years ago

This is a warning about the app and texts from the app IRL.

IRL is an app for Apple devices running iOS marketed as a social media app. It does have a functioning basic platform but the real danger is that when you give it access to contacts and messaging it sends a copy of your contacts to their servers likely to be sold and sends invites to everyone in your contacts.

I'm not sure how many people on steemit use iPhones but be warned.

I gathered this information from a couple of sites and Reddit threads about it and its predecessor Gather, all information is second hand.

Any edits or information that I may be missing please let me know. Resteeming to spread to as many people as possible would be a good idea.

Thank you and God Bless!


The images below have the text in them as they were compiled in snapchat to pass out the people that I am connected with there, but I will also put a copy of the text below along with notes for steemit specifically:

Snapchat-964753245.jpg

IMG_20180505_221720_522.jpg

Transcription:

IMPORTANT WARNING:

Just got this text. Seemed sketch so I did some research. This app is HIJACKING YOUR CONTACT LIST AND SELLING IT ALONG WITH INVITING EVERYONE IN YOUR CONTACTS! DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT DOWNLOAD! Also if you have my number and download[ed] this app please let me know. Screenshot and let all your friends know too! Thank you!

Pic 2:
Clarification: app is IRL currently only available on Apple devices. I know at least one other person who got the text.

The Messaging app I use is called Signal for those who are curious. As of the 2016 CIA WikiLeaks, it's CIA proof encrypted. I can send links to those interested in using.

Sort:  

Thank you for the notification. There are always those who want to take advantage by abusing the privacy of others. God bless you! How are you doing? How'd it go with the bike?

I'm doing good and the bike is ok. Thank you!

That's good, take care of yourself. Greetings!

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 83.57%. Estimated dollar amount of $4.5

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 83.57%. Estimated dollar amount of $4.5

People don't actually use apple products do they?
and is irl the one selling or buying the contacts?

Yes there are people who actually use Apple products outside of apple themselves. IRL is gathering and selling from what I read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76