Got My First Work-Study Job at University!!

in #school6 years ago

Upward-Bound-Logo.jpg

Hey everyone, I wanted to take a lil'break on posting about how much of a broke college student I was and post about something I'm really excited about. So, a little background story. I'm currently a freshman and Jesus Christ, I was expecting textbooks to be a lot but the more I thought about it like textbook companies are making bank. So, to sum things up, debt, debt, and oh yah debt. Anyways, I was looking into getting a job because selling things I have around the house isn't cutting it. So with influence from my SO, I went on my school's job searching website and saw that a position as tutor/mentor was available for a local high school. The program had apparently just started in my county because we never had the Upward Bound Program. It had happened that my school got a grant of $3 million from the state to run this program with university student over at a high school not too far from the university.

After having my resume approved and sent in a high school transcript, I was in the clear for an interview with the director and advisor for the program. As you could already guess from the title of this post, I got the position as a tutor for them. Thank goodness, and honestly I thought I would have to keep asking for more money from my parents (which I hate doing because I believe college is where students should learn how to earn things, unlike those international students who come from other countries with their Gucci headbands and GTRs, but that's for another day).

Today (2/5/18), I had tutor orientation and learned more about the program itself and what the staff's goals were since this is their first time with such a program and this first semester will be a learning experience more than anything. A cool fact I learned was that her Goddessness Oprah is an alumni of this program, who woulda thought. The program in general strives to help high school students get into college. And the way they plan on doing so, is by giving them the attention they need to pass their classes and help them along the way with financial aid and applying for school. It's ultimately is really great program that can do some real good to my community.

Yup, so that's been the highlight of my week and really hope everyone has a great day, Peace.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gerson4979! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @gerson4979! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gerson4979! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67