You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Work in progress (paper three of the PhD)

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I noticed something interesting while fighting against creationists. There are the same arguments, over and over again, even after being debunked 1000 times (like Nebraska man). Do we know what is the "silver bullet" that can kill false ideas?

Sort:  

Yes, making sure you can replace the myth with a fact.

Just debunking a misconception is never enough, something needs to be put in the hole where the myth once was. I swear I could have done more good by studying the causes of autism rather that the work I do now!

Also the usual be nice and try and act like you've not heard the same shit 1000 times before. It's not easy, I'm still not very good at it and always end up going back to Phil Plait’s lecture don't be a dick to remind me self why I can't just lose my shit.

It does work it just might be a little bit down the line at a point where you're not there to see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69331.49
ETH 3676.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24