You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planning ideas for dark-sky astronomy road trips

in #science5 years ago

I've never been properly star having! I'm jealous! There was once that I took our nieces out to see the meteor showers in Australia, but they were interested in the hot chocolate and marshmallows...
In the Netherlands, it seems like it would be too bright... But maybe one time, I'll take a trip up to the north Scandanavian countries to see the stars and the northern lights!

Sort:  

It's actually turning out to be pretty fun. We were especially lucky when we caught the Perseid meteor shower and new moon on the same night at Cherry Springs last August.

I would love to see the northern lights. They say you can see them from Pennsylvania sometimes, but I've been here my whole life, and I've never been able to.

I think I just read that the US is supposed to be having a complete lunar eclipse soon? I guess Canada is the closer option for you to see the Northern Lights!

Cool. Thanks for the tip! I didn't know that, but you're right - https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/next-lunar-eclipse.html. January 20-21. If I'm reading the chart right, it will be totally visible in N. America, S. America, and a small part of Europe. And most of it, except penumbral phases will be visible in part of Africa and most of Europe, too.

I hope the skies are clear. It will be cool to get a photo series during the eclipse.

Thanks for the site, I looked it up and it we do get it in Den Haag as well! Now to see if I can accidentally wake up my daughter to go out and watch the moon in the wee hours of the morning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96