You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vacuum chamber upgrade!

in #science6 years ago

Wow I am kinda floored by this post. You welded your own vacuum chamber dude. That is pretty awesome! It was really fascinating to see the different plasma formations at the different voltages and vacuum pressures. I can't wait to see what it looks like through the bigger viewport, but I already thoroughly enjoyed this. While I am sure the info you cite here is distilled from your own research and schooling, it would be nice to provide some sources for further reading when you discuss the particle physics that is going on. That would be my only constructive criticism. I am so happy I found you today, I am following you and really looking forward to more of this posting!

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

I greatly appreciate the feedback Carl! I will add a further reading section to my future articles with external sources.
In the mean time, here are a few links to some decent articles.

Molecular flow: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_molecular_flow

Viscous Flow: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Navier%E2%80%93Stokes_equations

I have taken a few classes on fluids where the only thing we covered was essentially Navier-Stokes and I am taking yet another class where we are covering it. This article is fairly difficult to gather information from unless you have had experience with modeling fluids. Nevertheless, some useful information can be obtained even without math.

Vacuum Chambers: https://www.lesker.com/newweb/vacuumchambers.cfm
A substantial amount of my knowledge was gained from reading through product descriptions on vacuum equipment manufactures and why 'their product is better'. This gave a good amount of information

Hopefully this helps! I will work on including a more diverse further reading section in the future. Thanks for the feedback!
~ Hellfire

Cool thanks for the links! I love to see quality, original science posting here. Looking back at your first couple of posts I am very impressed with those as well, your rail gun is pretty damn cool. Honestly this is very inspirational posting to me. I have a question for you:

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

I would be honored to be featured in an Author showcase! You have my permission to use images and text as you please.

As for the brief, you can use this:

I am an Aerospace engineering student as well as a home brew scientist. I enjoy building atypical things with a specialty in high voltage and vacuum systems. Many of the things I do are just for fun, and I hope to share as much of my knowledge as possible!

Thanks a ton Carl!
~ Hellfire Labs

Awesome :) The showcase post will be published Thursday, I will report back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67