Forgetfulness A Sign of Higher Intelligence

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Who is to say who is intelligent and who is not, how do you measure it? Is an IQ test adequate proof of intelligence? New studies out of Toronto university say that being forgetful can be a sign of higher intelligence, a sort of evolutionary trait. This trait helps us maximize space in are brain, overwriting old information to assist decision making and problem solving. In a world were facts are always changing, and information is at are finger tips with the internet, the brain can afford to delete a few things to make room for evolving information. Being forgetful on the day to day is sign the brain is working efficiently, scientists say we should not be so hard on our self's for forgetting it does not mean we are stupid. I wonder if this will still be a standard of intelligence in the future to come, like they say information and facts are always changing. If you are forgetting everything you might want to get checked out, there might be a problem.

Myself I can recall early childhood memories in detail but less and less as I have gotten older, the brain to be efficient only allows us to see the big picture in stead of every detail. I thought I had a problem with my head or something lol. I don't feel I am a genius but this study makes me feel better about myself, a real ego booster. In my opinion people who remember everything, and us forgetful folks complement each other if anything. They can give us the information and we can solve the problem there having with it haha. Every body has there on special ability this is why two heads are better than one i guess. I like problem solving though this might be on reason I'm better at math then english, because I was saving space lol.

Thanks for reading yet another post hope you found it interesting.

Link

https://www.sciencealert.com/forgetfulness-could-just-be-the-brain-wiping-useless-memories

Recommended Content:

@matt-a, @intrepidthinker, @kotturinn, @robomode, @robrigo, @tommyinthesun, @forester-joe, @chronogn

Sort:  

I always use to think it was the mary jane that made me forget everything lol. This makes me feel alot better to.

Me to lol, I'm going to use this as an excuse for now on.

Hey @calvary its me lil d😁

Good information to know! Now you boys leave Mary Jane alone! 😂

Mary Jane has other pro lems lol.

I forget all the time how smart i am to. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61