You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science as Structured Imagination

in #science6 years ago (edited)

If this bears out, I guess it might have implications for the importance of science fiction as a practical, if incipient, source of scientific development. SF writer X comes up with a new idea drastically afield from easy anaologies, and the field eventually catches up - or some such relationship.

It's interesting to me how the Cham's satire of the scientific method applies to amateur study as well as professional for profit study - where the funding agency manager is just the amateur herself. At least as far as mushrooms are concerned, because some are rarer or more edible, there is often a strong, usually unconscious motivation to make presumptions about a given find which subsequently colors the investigation into the specimen. My experience here on steemit, watching another fungi enthusiast make an obvious mistake has fit that bill exactly - even though there's no monetary motivation riding on being right or wrong.

Anyways - enjoyed reading this. I'm going to be very low on SP for the next couple of weeks, but I also gave this a resteem.

Although I delegate 1k to steemstem, so there vote includes some of the value I'd ascribe to this post :)

Edit: holy cow esteem is making it difficult to comment right now...

Sort:  

Sigma Xi did an informal survey of its members, and the relationship was not quite so direct, but it anecdotally served as an inspiration, both for inventions and for careers.
https://www.sigmaxi.org/about/donate/did-science-fiction-influence-you

Update: I did a full post about it here.
https://steemit.com/science/@plotbot2015/did-science-fiction-influence-you

Resteem affects your voting power now? I guess that's why it asks for a confirmation.

No, it doesn't effect vp - I just don't have any SP atm, so my vote is worth nothing - but I also resteemed it to make up for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71153.91
ETH 3862.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51