You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six months at an Oil and Gas processing firm

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I must say it wasn't wasted 6 months. The most common thing amongst our universities in Nigeria is the lack of enough practical experience for her technological students. Thanks to the educators and private and public sector alike that have created opportunities like this for better mastery of the practical ends of professions like this.

The closest I've had to things like this was how raw water is gotten from the dam and goes through all the required processes before becoming what is distributed as portable water. It was an interesting experience. The most interesting part to me was the fact that sand is used as a filtration agent; just as can be found in your post here too.

I can boldly say what you've got here is adequate enough for a fellow chemical engineer or even a prospect develop some interest in the oil fields. You brought the oil fields live to us on steemit. I'm glad I read this and I hope and believe a lot more people would get to read this too.

Meanwhile, I have seen you explain the process the water from the "crude 'crude oil'" is treated. Would love to see what happens to the crude oil itself maybe in your subsequent post. A blow out of how the petrol,diesel,kerosine, paraphene e.t.c are gotten. Only though I doubt you might be able to get original photos as I'm aware of the secretive nature of stuffs like that but I guess you can make do with whatever is on the internet.

Steem on...

@dorth...

Sort:  

Thanks a lot @dorth it was a really exciting experience. My only regret was the fact that I could not capture my images with a pro camera or a DSLR. I had to use a safety camera to capture the images and edit them using adobe lightroom . You can also check out my previous post on fractional distillation. You might gain a thing or two from that post as it also talks about crude oil processing. Cheers sir!!

Wow! Cool... The post just about explains what I was expecting. Steem on brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97