You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rivers of Molten Stone: Flood Basalts

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Oh wow this is profoundly interesting! Science is interesting and, while it is not my religion, I really enjoy reading more about what we know about the world through this tremendous mechanism.

In terms of flows and eruptions, I do understand that they formed much of our world. Locally, our Mt. Ruiz exploded in 1985 and wiped the large hub of Armero off the map, even being declared holy ground by the pope.

I suspect there was more of the less viscous material in this one, since the side of the mountain fell off/exploded and channeled an enormous amount of debris down a valley where it bottlenecked, building pressure, and finally exploded through, wiping out that city many miles away.

Recently they made a movie about it. Is there any chance I could encourage you to write an article about that event? I could offer a bounty! I find that when really smart expert people like you write articles, smart but non-expert people like me learn a lot.

Love and Light!

Sort:  

Yeah, that sounds like an interesting topic to research and write about, I'd be happy to!

Wow cool! Thanks for inviting me to the steemSTEM chat as well.

I may try to add a STEM angle on our agroforesty posts. We recently got some permission to set-up experimental lots with agroforesty on one of the biggest monoculture coffee plantations in our area.

We are currently designing the experiment.

👋😀✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91