You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Love of Your Life Right Under Your Nose? Maybe, if You're a Mouse

in #science6 years ago

Finally I can come to your article. Very much appreciate your critical attitude to it and not presenting science as carved in stone. I find this is needed as in the mass media a lot of nonsense is done with "studies" and "latest scientific findings".

If we think about it, society, and most living things, are significantly invested in mating. When it comes to humans, sexual pairing has been the only means of reproduction

That caused me to catch up on a thought I recently had and almost forgot. The mating thing we usually attribute to the younger generation. It becomes kind of weird when older folks still are on the hunt, so to speak. I guess, it is more of an underlying expectation from the surrounding people when they see over 40s or 50s still on the "market" on the search for mating. It's kind of embarrassing when one is clothed and styled like a youngster and generally the young ones pity those who try to mingle themselves in and hope for a match.

I for myself think that there is a "right" time in life to be on the market as a potential mating partner. Once it fades out, one is not that interesting any more. We know this as a "truth" (exceptions confirm the rule).

I also would throw in that one actually might follow the evolutional programming (once one is free to do so) and mate with a partner which differs a lot genetically but still finds it not the right match. As intelligence is perceived somehow and the concept of life mingle with social influences and culture the biology might be a perfect match but sociology makes a halt to maintain the relationship any further (my unscientific approach here:)

Also, the chance to marry into a higher hierarchy (financially) does not happen that much, is my guess. The romance where a poor maiden (more modern secretary) marries the wealthy landlord (professor or owner of a good running family business) is always good for a story but when I should give an estimate I would also say it's more of an exception.

The question whether one likes to smell the different sex would be interesting to investigate. Is the ability to sniff it out still there even when a perfume overrides the natural smell?

HaHa! That is so typical human. We always can surprise one another!

"in some way body odors that reveal a person's immunogenetics"

So, we intuitively choose the perfume which supports our natural odor? Thats hilarious.

In general, the nature vs. nurture discussion is being held.
I think you are a person who would place an "and" between the two and include other, unknown factors as well. Those, from which we have no knowledge and from which we might never have it (room for uncertainty and stay relaxed about it).

Sort:  

A pleasure to find your comment as I opened my browser this morning. There's definitely enduring mystery about sexual attraction--and what may be a separate issue--pairing in order to form a family. As you rightly suggest, socioeconomic factors are likely stronger than any "smell" :)
Intuitively, it is my guess that we are engineered to "smell" our mates, but that as with so much else, primitive instinct is generally overwhelmed by socialization. With age, sense of smell declines (what doesn't?), and this is logical in an evolutionary sense--especially for women. We don't need that biological assist to find an appropriate mate because after menopause MHC is irrelevant--the question of reproduction is off the table.
I'm brewing another blog now--tangentially related to this--but don't see that it can be done before Monday or Tuesday. Do you think the hardfork (due on Tuesday) will be an issue for blogging/voting/etc?
I'm thinking of last week's service interruption.

HeHe, and I am indeed happy that it's off the table. Some insecurities go with it as well and one doesn't have to bother with them.

Sometimes I am torn between an ever curious mind and to lift the cloak of mystery or simply to enjoy myself in a certain uncertainty.

With the hardfork, I have no idea. It happened already two times as far as I can remember and always started to run smoothly again. But to be safe I would wait up the date.

I am kind of also hoping for a steemstem vote on my newest article which had cost me a hell lot of research. But I have not payed attention to the business of the steemstemmers and so maybe it will go unnoticed. I am not always the cleverest in choosing the schedules.

I just saw the post and will give it a good read. I like to pay attention because your blogs are always quite thorough. I hope steemstem supports it. Networking is not my strength--not in the virtual universe or the physical universe. Banter sometimes goes over my head. But I do support good work, people who support me, and a few bloggers who need a boost. After that, I hope for the best. Fortunately, I like science a lot, so those blogs are interesting. Creative writing posts seem to get less material reward, but they are rewarding in another way, aren't they?

I'm going to drink my morning coffee, wake up a bit more, and check out your blog.

oh yes, they are rewarding. I felt a boost myself in free writing - as a result to participate in the @bananafish s finishing the story contests as well as in the 50 words stories. I noticed that those things have a little delay on me and the full power of engaging in the fiction writing space arrives later on.

I truly enjoy that and actually I would write even more but am afraid that my blog would burst. I don't want readers to be overwhelmed by so much content. So I skip some rounds when I do not find the real kick also.

But when inspiration sets in it is almost unstoppable, right? Then it has to come out:)

I will go and have an evening coffee.

P.S. in further dialogue I do not click the vote button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84