You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some results from our Tesla Magnifying Transmitter tests

in #science6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this work! This confirms a lot of what I have studied regarding the Wardenclyffe Tower. I do have a few questions if you can answer....

Does the excited secondary circuit need to be a harmonic of the return circuit? Some of his drawings show the legs of the return circuit as coils offering more induction before the ground connection...

Since you are using a spark gap, you are primarily using damped wave oscillation, correct? Have you used a continuous wave (CW) to excite any systems you've made?

I ask because I built a small - 250 watt - CW 50khz TMT system and would like to replicate these experiments if possible. CW oscillation usually comes with lower power inputs and lower voltage outputs....My system is CW and I think im going to try building a return circuit and receiving systems on the same frequency as the return circuit and measure received power. I can also build a HV damped wave driver if needed. Thanks for any insights!

Sort:  

In the CSN you will read that Tesla tested with the return circuit being tuned to the same frequency as the secondary and extra coil. In other separate notes you will read that the return circuit can be any frequency.
To achieve CW you will most likely resort to transistors. Transistors put a limit on you primary circuit voltage and consequently on the output voltage as you already noted. The voltage required for this system to work is much higher than what can readily be achieved with transistors.
I also suspect that the abruptness of a spark gap plays a role and there is really no transistor that comes anywhere near what a spark gap does in that respect.
I have built a transistor driven 50W TMT, more or less as you describe it and did not get any interesting results.

Thanks for the feedback! I built the CW system to test out power magnification. I was also going to use the CW as a carrier signal and possibly integrate logic into the signal going on/off to make a binary communication system between Tx and Rx.

The above experiments are very interesting, I will likely test this schematic with my CW setup and see if there are differences in power in primary, secondary and return circuits with adjustments to size of torroid and height of torroid in return circuit.

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98