You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Quest for A Total Annihilation of the Killer Mosquitoes

in #science6 years ago

The DDT also led to environmental contamination as well as 'extinction' of so many insects in Europe.
Worst still, even as the mosquitoes are getting resistant to the measures in combating them, we are also becoming resistant to the antimalarials 😥😥
It's just saddening, my lecturer concludes it is a means of controlling the human population...
Great read though

Sort:  

With DDT, it's all about the method of application. I consider myself to be a fairly hardcore environmentalist, but I have zero problem with DDT-infused netting or careful application to windowsills, doors, etc.

@effofex, I wish they should have looked at it a little more from all angles before the ban. It sure helped those of us in Africa, the worst-hit areas, to control the mosquitoes then.

The outcry on its effect on the environment was why it was banned in the first place. The resistance to it after a while was a secondary factor. Wow, your teacher statement is weird. Mosquitoes as a means of controlling human population? Some countries even put up ads so people can have children due to declining birth rate. Thank you for visiting my blog. I do appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69969.18
ETH 3697.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23