Hard vs soft impact

in #science5 years ago (edited)

On Ganymede one can easily see two different types of impacts and be able to discern their relative ages.

Because its an ice covered ocean, hard impacts go right through the ice surface and leave concentric ripple like rings for craters.

Occasionally an impactor is traveling slowly enough that it simple lodges in the ice without breaking all the way through, as can be seen by the much darker objects standing out from the more uniform background colour.

Recent impacts are more white due to the disturbance of the surface ice and older impacts simply fade to the surrounding uniform colour.

Snip taken from:

PIA00081 Ganymede Voyager 2 mosaic.jpg
By NASA / Jet Propulsion Lab - http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/catalog/PIA00081, Public Domain, Link

Sort:  

You're spacing out a lot these days @gavvet. I'm a huge fan of all things above and beyond. Do you play any video games? Kerbal Space Program might be right up your alley.

Kerbal is awesome! Aswell as space simulator, but I guess nothing beats EVE online. :)
What's your interest in beyond? :) I might have something in my sleeve for you :)

screenshot41.png

screenshot37.png

No easy feat. I'll follow you and see what's up. I just like space. Always have. Might get laughed at these days but I actually believe they landed people on the moon as well.

ha, awesome! You are officially my 900th follower, well actually more like 30th alive at this moment or even a smaller number. Cheers to that! :)

Well, from what I had in the lectures they landed 6 manned missions on the moon. and lots of just landers and rovers. Last one being deployed by China on far side of the Moon. :)

Not much time for games, growing up in a rural area without light pollution and owning a pair of binoculars, the stars etc. were ever present

I grew up far far away from the lights as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99