Mrs Ples could actually be Mr Ples

in #science6 years ago (edited)

The next skull to be found in Africa was by Dr Broom.

He created a new genus for it, Plesianthropus and because the skull was relatively small with smallish canine teeth it was presumed to belong to a female. The skull quickly obtained the nickname "Mrs Ples".


By José Braga; Didier Descouens , CC BY-SA 4.0, Link

A lot has happened since its initial discovery.

Plesianthropus has pretty much been dropped as a genus and "Mrs Ples" has been reassigned to Australopithecus africanus

There has also been an and off debate around the gender of the owner.

At that stage this was the only adult Australopithecus skull around. since then many have come to light and the size of the canines has been re-assessed in relation to a much broader set of individuals of known gender.

To compound the difficulty relevant portions of the skull were damaged a few years after its discovery when acid was used to remove stubborn particles from the fossilized skull.

The latest study goes back to evaluating the skull, not in its current condition, but using the dimensions recorded in the first descriptions before the acid damage.

These dimensions show large enough canine roots to confirm that the skull belongs to a male Australopithecus when compared to the more plentiful specimens of this species now available today.

Welcome "Mr Ples" or "Mr Aust", sorry for all the gender confusion up till now, but I guess that is in keeping with the current vogue of the times.

Sort:  

So that would make this literally the world's oldest case of gender re-assignment?

That's about right!

Thank you for this interesting post. I guess I'm quite cynical when it comes to evolution theories. I don't think I have enough faith to believe it. Thanks again, following YOU!

Faith is reaching out into the unknown. Research and study equip us to reach out further. I suggest you approach the subject with more depth.

How do you know that?

I've been a skeptic too... but study enough to understand the material presented comprehensively and issues resolve themselves, then you are left with deeper even more meaningful questions.

What were you skeptical about?

evolutionary theorey

Why did it seem too far fetched?

Ha, interesting!

Man, with these advancements in science sometimes it just seems that previously done work renders useless and stuff needs to be reexamined again and again with new techniques. But I guess thats actually needed in order to advance in the first place :-)

Thanks for sharing @gavvet!

wow got a historical info thanks for shareing like it !

Acid damage, a bunch of years since the individual was alive, and still science can manage it. It's amazing how we are advancing. I hope in the future we can recreate dinosaurs and extint animals :)

Man that would be really cool!!! Love your comment! Following YOU!

Scientific research doesn't need to follow Vogue's latest gender rules, they change them every week after all, it would be impossible to keep track of them lol.

Too true...

"Welcome "Mr Ples" or "Mr Aust", sorry for all the gender confusion up till now, but I guess that is in keeping with the current vogue of the times"

😂

Great article though! After reading i went quickly in your profile to see if you did write on the Taung Child - hadn't you, i'd have suggested here in this comment - and surprisingly you did!

Amazeballs! You got yourself a new follower. One that you will feel 24/7 in your life in comparison to the other 13000 that were as intense as me in the first place /s 🤠

Very nice. We seem to find ourselves ( the science fans) around steemit sooner or later.
Found a lot of science people today! And I was not even searching.

I must confess: Today I didn't see a single Photo Contest on my newsfeed :D
Go Science!

I am inspired with your scientific posts @gavvet. I also write about science. You can visit my profile when you find time.

Why vote your own comments? I don't understand the science behind it :(

I also thought I will write an article on human evolution, but I was reluctant even being an voracious anthropology reader.
I had almost studied all the major scholars of human evolution Leaky, Hellman, pilbeam and many contemporary Anthropologists. But being a minnow I thought no body will give it any heed. But after seeing a response you got I will definitely consider a series of stories on linkages in human evolution. At least from Dryopithecus, australopithicus, pithicanthropus erectus, homo hails, Neanderthals and cromagonman.
I am Indian a complementary RAMAPITHICUS will be too added.
I don't think it matters was it male. Or female or A. Afaranses, A. Africanus, A. Anamensis, or Boise. What matters is people are now believing evolutionary history of man.

Regards.....

I don't think it is plausible! Great comment, following you muzi0202!

Hope so thanks followed back!!!

at long last the open deliberation of whether the scull is a male or female have been settled.
There are still more to be found about the fossils in Africa..

Good Point!

there are lot of fossils in africa. many more yet to be discovered

:) couldn't sleep because of that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78