Now that's what I call cratering!

in #science5 years ago

So many generations of craters preserved on Rhea.

As one looks carefully its easy to see many places on this moon with craters superimposed on each other. It's also notable that the larger craters are preserved at the lowers layers and that the succeeding layers of superimposed craters get progressively smaller and smaller in keeping wit the models of moon and planetary accretion.

Snip taken from this image:

PIA07763 Rhea full globe5.jpg
By NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute - http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/catalog/PIA07763, Public Domain, Link

Sort:  

I like the clarity of the picture, it’s lovely to know that craters are preserved for ages on Rhea.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am working on a project to get images with this kind of detail by stacking up to 3000 images taken using a usb telescope mount camera. Its not working out as I expected, but once I tweak a few things I hope to have something worthwhile to share.

Sounds like an intriguing project, keep us updated.

An interesting post, but if I'm being honest, I came here to ask a question or rarther a favor of you @gavvet.
Not to leave a bad taste in your mouth, but I am truly wondering how I can achieve your support on my blog. I am a fulltime Steemian juggling between DTube,Steemhunt $ Steempress, Daily. I promise I don't do shit posts and I make good curation rewards, feel free to check out my page. I will really appreciate your consideration. I only say this cause I notice your VP is mostly above 90%, please put me into consideration @gavvet.

Sincerely, Elsie,

@gavvet You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59