The work at Sterkfontein begins

in #science6 years ago (edited)

In 1936 Dr. Broom headed off to a cave that he had been told about by his students. The cave had been discovered during blasting for a limestone quarry on the farm Sterkfontein.

Sterkfontein caves and the caves in its surrounding areas would become world famous in origins circles over the next century. They would and still continue to produce huge treasures of immense significance but in these early days nobody could know the worth and number of origins secrets that lay fossilized for millions of years in these ancient caverns and fossilized bone beds.


img source

Some of the first material to emerge was baboon and saber tooth cat skulls.


img source


img source

A week later when Dr. Broom returned he was handed half a fossilized brain cast that had been blasted out that morning. After more work they located the rest and pieced it together over the next couple of weeks.

This would be nicknamed Mrs Ples.

The light sunken sections shows the areas that were damaged in the blasting. It was filled with plaster to enable the fossil skull to be reconstructed as best as possible.


img source

A commemorative bust of Dr. Robert broom holding Mrs Ples at the exit to the Sterkfontein caves.


img source

Sort:  

The first picture resembles with this picture which click in Wake field cave . These are Lampen flora .

20171028_155839.jpg

Nice shot there!!!
It does look a lot like the first shot, is that a cage you are taking the shot through ?

hey, is this wakefield cave in the UK? If so would you mind sharing where? Wakefield is just north of me, I tend to cave in the Peak District but have the Yorkshire Dales in my sights this summer :) P.S Sorry if you have no idea what I am talking about!

https://steemit.com/fundraising/@jejes/steemit-help-fundraising-for-my-friend-s-father

Hi everyone! pls do help to upvote this post for my friend's father's heart. They need our support right now..

I like scientific news or info as I'm a student of Physics, thanks for sharing!

Wow!!
This is awesome.
That the problem with ignorance of the early years.
These fossilized materials now are very treasurable in terms of monetary value and for aesthetics purposes.
Great post @gavvet

it's exciting to see them. thanks for sharing

wow. looking extraordinary & great story. thanks for sharing

I cherish perusing about pioneers in each field of study. I can just envision the feelings at play at the revelation of these fossils.

Hi @gavvet, how are you? Really interesting post, love it ! I would like to connect with other cool and friendly steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Really it s a great site..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99