My scientist personality....

in #science6 years ago

     Science in general has been a subject of interest to me since I was a little kid. I remember watching a variety of TV didactic programs about experiments. I was amazed about how those experiments were made and the results that originated from them. I also remember when my dad brought home an encyclopedia. I was like 5 or 6 years old. I have learned how to read by that time and I spent hours and hours every week reading throughout the books within that encyclopedia. Among my favorite books were a world atlas, and the biology book; especially the section on human anatomy and physiology, within the biology book. I've been amazed since then how the human body is constructed, and the functions that take place in every system. I've been a person filled with curiosity about how things are formed, and how these things work.

     One time, inspired by those didactic TV shows, I remember taking some dish washing powder soap, salt, sugar and water, among other few things that I can't remember of, and mixing them up to see what would happen. Of course nothing extra ordinal happened, but just a weird smelly solution that I ended up dumping in the sink. 

     In another occasion I was writing down some mathematical operations and then combined those, looking to find some helpful formula for something I didn't even know for what purpose. I didn't come up with anything interesting and stop writing those calculations down. 

     When I was like 6 or 7, I was inspired by a documentary I watched about the origins of penicillin. I remember placing a tortilla inside a glass container and closed it up. I even labeled it as penicillium nanatum with the date when I set it up. I was expecting to grow some mold to see how penicillin was. After a few days the mold grew, and I was keeping it until my mom threw it away. 

    At the age of 8 I used to snatch flies and observe them. One time, I tried to open one up to see how it was from inside. I grabbed  a knife and began to  cut one fly up. It died right away, and I couldn't see any interesting thing at that time that I just decided to stop doing it. 

     When I was 12, my biology teacher brought to class a dead human fetus about 1 to 2 months old kept in a glass container. It was something amazing. My interest about the human anatomy and physiology increased after this experience. Then by the time I was a high school junior, I took an anatomy and physiology class which I enjoyed. My two unforgettable experiences were when we dissected a sheep brain, and when we had a field trip to a university where we had the opportunity to observe not only the dead bodies that were kept in a room, but also many of the organs inside one of those bodies like the intestines, and the liver. I have noticed that inside of me lies a scientist personality who is always willing to investigate, research and discover; and it is just a reflection of the ancient Greeks, inspired by early civilizations like the Egyptians. I'm amazed how their way of thinking has helped the humanity to develop sciences like biology and chemistry, where the foundations for the study of the human body and modern medicine can be found. 

     It's just amazing how people form long time ago were able to do great discoveries without the advanced technology we have today. Thanks to them now we can be able to implement that knowledge, and research even further. As well as the Egyptians created the bases of medicine for the ancient Greeks, they also have created the bases for later civilizations like ours, and some of us who find ourselves fascinated with science have the responsibility to create the bases for future generations. Personally, I hope one day I can contribute to the study of medicine and science in general with something helpful for humanity and other living creatures like plants and animals. This is why I love science, especially biology and chemistry which are the foundations for medical research. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73