Under the microscope: Seeing cells grow.

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

As a molecular biologist in the day; I work with a world that is quite complex and dynamic. It usually consists of one single Hero: The Cell. It is hard for me to imagine a day without thinking about the cell and its inner workings. The complex interactions that occur in a controlled manner to promote cellular and organismal growth keeps me curious and wanting to pursue research.

Since the time Antonie Philips van Leeuwenhoek invented the microscope humans have pursued the search in the microscopic realms. It was unicellular microbes at first but over 300 years of innovation we are able to see more and understand better and answer the enigmatic questions. Human's thirst for knowing more has enabled better resolution of cells and their inner workings. This resolution has, in turn, let us discover subcellular structures, localize proteins and visualize intra and extracellular signalling.

Kras u251_BANNER.jpg


This quote by the founder of micorscopy summarises

My work, which I've done for a long time, was not pursued in order to gain the praise I now enjoy, but chiefly from a craving after knowledge, which I notice resides in me more than in most other men. And therewithal, whenever I found out anything remarkable, I have thought it my duty to put down my discovery on paper, so that all ingenious people might be informed thereof. - — Antonie van Leeuwenhoek, in a letter dated 12 June 1716 Source: Wikipedia.

Work: The love for Images meet Science

I have worked in few labs over the years as a Research student and have come to admire the diversity of cell types and how the transformed cells function. Whenever I use the microscope, I feel baffled and very satisfied with what i see. It is very transformative indeed for me.

Cells at work

In this short blog post, I will show you all Dear Steemians some Images of various cells undergoing division or in the process of doing the same. Few images have signal activation on the cytoplasm when we induced localization of kRAS. All the cells exhibit beautiful morphological characteristics and the neural cells OR HeLa cells which are derived from cervical cancers.



Cells were treated with an inhibitor of kRAS signalling so that we see kRAS localization in​ the cytoplasm bright green spots.

14C2.jpg

HeLa cells were stained for nuclei(blue) and another protein (green)to visualize the localization

control siRNA 1_1.jpg

MeWo cells firing mitotic signalling cascades and undergoing division.

5C2.jpg

U251 cells* under activated kRAS signalling

11C2_1.jpg

Few U251 cells are close to each other promoting intracellular signalling

2C2.jpg

The cell with its nucleus stained with DAPI a dye that is nucleus specific.

Kras u251_1.jpg


It is a wonderful world seeing down through the microscope. I am happy to perform some experiments on a daily basis, Usually my time with microscopy is more exciting as it includes another favourite hobby; Photography.

I wanted to share snippets of the images. Just to try out blogging in STEM


Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Celebrate with us "150+ days of the dropAhead curation team!"


Most recent post: ¡Castellano!

Thank you for sharing a little of your world... Fascinating, and brings me back to my biology class in school! :)

This post has received gratitude of 17.92 % from @appreciator thanks to: @harshameghadri.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(0.5%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/history/leeuwenhoek.html
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

The source has been cited and hyperlinked​.

Wow really love it... Like some space aliens creatures ;)

Thank you @kriptonoob; you are welcome to follow my blog for more stuff like this in future.

I just did that... I found you at AdSactly Discord ;)

Wowww I knew that you are a traveller! Haha
It's a very very nice posting. It's been 20 years since I've heard about 'the cell' the word itself. Lol

Hahaha, Thank you YiYu. Well you have heard it again, hopefully not for the last time :P

Sure, I believe that you will post about cells again. :p

Wow I remember when my interest in science first began during my childhood days, I would go through my brother's biology books to read about a lot of things. It's been a long time since I got see the word "cell" again.

Hahaha, true lot of my memories in school revolve around science classes esp biology. I am glad that you share the same interest. I hope in future I will write about cell often :) ; So follow my blog.

Cheers!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78