You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit on Dopamine, a Way Forward: My Anniversary Post

in #science5 years ago

Congrats on your anniversary!

I agree with you that human interaction is what would make Steemit work. Every time I see the bot voting on my article I feel ... well disappointed and somehow sad and lonely. And even one "real" vote from a friend and I can feel the dopamine and endorphin rush :) I have noticed that I don't feel happier if a post has made more "money" but doesn't have any comments. And I feel better if I have "earned" a dollar but have a full comment section on the other hand.

So, being poor, but having friends is a better Steemit combination for me :D Of course, being "rich" and having friends would be perfect :D

So, nice to meet you @agmoore! I have read some of your posts before but I can't remember if I have left a comment. See you around!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for stopping by to "celebrate" with me! I've seen your posts and comments, also, and am not sure if I have commented. I do tend to communicate and share my opinions, so probably I have.

Yeah, I want to be "rich", too, but have walked away from jobs in the past that weren't personally rewarding. So money isn't enough for me, either. I hope the rational argument I've tried to make finds resonance in bloggers who have had the same thoughts. You never know.... maybe somehow we can make a difference.
I'll see you around the platform--looking forward to it!

but have walked away from jobs in the past that weren't personally rewarding

Oh, I know so well what you are talking about!!! All of my professional life I have been torn between working for good money and working for satisfaction and joy. I have always chosen the second one but unfortunately, I haven't been in peace with myself about it. It seems like there is no right answer for me in real life :/ Here, on Steemit is easier to choose :) Haha, one's choice is still a beta :D

We have to eat. That's a fact. We have families that depend on us. That's a fact. And yet, we have this one life. Conflict, conflict, conflict.
Somehow, it worked out for me, not without struggle. I'm not rich. Never made a lot of money, but I can say (except for worrying about my adult children and regretting some things I did in my past) that I am a reasonably happy person.
I'm much further down the road than you are. Hope you will say the same some day (minus the regrets).

Thank you very much, @agmoore! I don't know if it is even possible for a sane person to have no regrets :/ But being at peace with your choice, I hope I can make that happen to me, too :)

I hope so too, :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86